Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Australia win by 72 runs

India vs Australia

Australia pile up the runs on way to big win against India in Pune

George Bailey: Tasmanian is leading Australia in absence of injured Michael Clarke

Australia's batsmen set up a 72-run victory over India in the opening game of the seven-match ODI series.

Skipper George Bailey top scored with 85 in a total of 304-8 after Australia had chosen to bat first in Pune.

Bailey's 82-ball contribution built on an opening stand of 110 between Aaron Finch (72) and Phil Hughes (47).

India were all out for 232 in reply, James Faulkner claiming 3-47.


Finch and Hughes brought up their century stand in the 18th over to lay the platform for a day of dominance from the tourists.

It was the introduction of spin that finally prompted the breakthrough; Hughes glancing a delivery from Ravindra Jadeja (1-35) to Suresh Raina at leg slip.

Jadeja's fellow left-armer Yuvraj Singh (2-34) accounted for Shane Watson (2) and Finch, whose 79-ball innings featured eight fours and three sixes.

Bailey, leading Australia in this series due to Michael Clarke's back injury, batted through to the 47th over to ensure a big total.

He received good support from Glenn Maxwell (31) and James Faulkner (27) before being denied a century by Ravichandran Ashwin (2-55).


Opener Shikhar Dhawan (7) was caught behind off Faulkner in the seventh over of India's run chase.

Australia wicketkeeper Brad Haddin had to the leave the field after being poked in the eye by the bowler's attempted high-five, Hughes taking over behind the stumps.

Rohit Sharma (42), Virat Kohli (61) and Raina (39) all got out after making starts and, from 137-2 in the 28th over, India suffered a collapse that saw them fall well behind the required-rate.

Seamers Faulkner, Clint McKay (2-36) and Watson (2-31) shared the wickets around as India were dismissed in 49.4 overs.

The second match takes place in Jaipur on Wednesday.

Match Details

13th Oct 2013
Australia won the toss and elected to bat.
Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium
R A Kettleborough, V A Kulkarni
TV Umpire
C Shamsuddin
Match Referee
R S Mahanama
Reserve Umpire
N Singh


Batsman R
S. Dhawan c Haddin b Faulkner 7
R.G. Sharma c Hughes b Watson 42
V. Kohli lbw Watson 61
S.K. Raina c Doherty b Faulkner 39
Y. Singh c Hughes b Johnson 7
M.S. Dhoni b McKay 19
R.A. Jadeja c Bailey b Faulkner 11
R. Ashwin c Watson b McKay 5
B. Kumar c Voges b Finch 18
R.V. Kumar b Voges 11
Extras 5w, 2b, 4lb 11
Total All Out, 49.4 Overs 232
Full Batting Card

australia BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
M.G. Johnson 10 0 38 1
C.J. McKay 10 0 36 2
J.P. Faulkner 8 0 47 3
X.J. Doherty 10 1 54 0
S.R. Watson 8 0 31 2
A.C. Voges 3 0 18 1
A.J. Finch 0.4 0 2 1
Full Bowling Card