Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Leicestershire win by 33 runs

Holland vs Leics

Foxes win at last

Group A leaders bowled out for just 175

Matthew Hoggard: 3-26 for the skipper

Michael Thornely, Matthew Hoggard and James Sykes all starred as Leicestershire beat the Netherlands by 33 runs in Amstelveen to claim their first win in this season's Clydesdale Bank 40.

Thornely made a boundary-laden 86 as the Foxes, batting first, posted a total of 208-7 in an innings reduced to 36 overs by the weather.

And Hoggard and Sykes then took three wickets apiece as the Group A leaders were bowled out for just 175.

Timm van der Gugten (2-25) removed Josh Cobb in the first over and added the notable scalp of his opening partner Ramnaresh Sarwan (24) to leave the visitors 51-3 from 13 overs.

Matt Boyce made only 10 but Thornely and Wayne White put on 69 for the fifth wicket before White (38) became Mudassar Bukhari's (two for 37) first victim, with Leicestershire 143-5 with 4.2 overs remaining.

A further 50 were added in quick time before Thornely was caught by Tom Heggelman off Shahbaz Bashir to end a 77-ball knock containing six fours and five sixes. Ned Eckersley added 14 and Robert Taylor finished unbeaten on six.

Hoggard removed Michael Swart and Wesley Barresi either side of Stephan Myburgh's promising innings of 21 from 12 balls being ended when the opener retired hurt.

Bashir followed to leave the hosts 35-3 - effectively four - and they never really recovered, though Cameron Borgas attempted to give the innings some momentum with an innings of 40 from 48 balls.

Sykes removed Borgas, Bukhari first ball and then Tom de Grooth (36) in figures of 3-39 and though Heggelman made 14no, the chase was futile.

Hoggard put the seal on proceedings with the wicket of Van der Gugten (four) to finish with 3-26.

Match Details

11th Jul 2012
Netherlands won the toss and elected to bowl.
VRA Ground
P Willey and M A Gough


Batsman R
S.J. Myburgh ret hurt 21
Swart c Hoggard 0
W. Barresi lbw b Hoggard 5
S. Bashir c White b Buck 5
C.J. Borgas lbw b J.S. Sykes 40
Borren b R.M.L. Taylor 2
de Grooth b J.S. Sykes 36
Bukhari c J.S. Sykes 0
Seelaar c R.M.L. Taylor b Buck 28
T.J. Heggelman not out 14
T. van der Gugten c Boyce b Hoggard 4
Extras 10w, 5b, 5lb 20
Total All Out, 32.1 Overs 175
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Hoggard 5.1 0 26 3
Buck 7 2 26 2
R.M.L. Taylor 6 0 31 1
J.S. Sykes 7 0 39 3
J.J. Cobb 5 0 26 0
M.A. Thornely 2 0 17 0
Full Bowling Card