Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 4 of 4
Glamorgan won by 241 runs.

Glamorgan vs Worcs

Glamorgan top after win

Worcestershire skittled in pursuit of 417

Cosker: devastating spell

Glamorgan went top of the LV County Championship Division Two table after David Harrison and Dean Cosker bowled them to a 241-run win over Worcestershire on the final day at Colwyn Bay - a result that prompted Vikram Solanki to resign as Pears skipper.

LV County Championship - Division Two Colwyn Bay Glamorgan 369 (M J Cosgrove 84, B J Wright 72, J W M Dalrymple 56) & 397-8 dec (B J Wright 121 no, T L Maynard 98, G P Rees 65, J Allenby 62, M S Mason 4-87) v Worcestershire 350-8 dec (D K H Mitchell 165 no, A N Kervezee 72) & 175 (D A Cosker 4-27) Glamorgan (22pts) beat Worcestershire (7pts) by 241 runs

The Welsh county advanced their second innings from an overnight position of 355-6 to a declaration at 397-8 after seven overs of the morning session.

Ben Wright, on 97 overnight, duly completed his third first-class century and finished unbeaten on 121.

That left Worcestershire chasing 417 for victory but they had no answer to the seam bowling of Harrison and the spin of Cosker as they were bowled out for 175.

Only Daryl Mitchell, who had scored tons in his previous three innings, and Alexei Kervezee provided much resistance.

Harrison finished with 3-48 and Cosker scalped 4-27 as Glamorgan picked up a 22-point haul for their efforts, moving them above Sussex into top spot by a single point.

Day three

Positive innings from Ben Wright and Tom Maynard put Glamorgan in control ahead of the final day of their County Championship clash with Worcestershire.

Wright finished day three unbeaten on 97 as he and Maynard, who was dismissed two short of a maiden Championship century, helped the hosts to 355-6 - a lead of 374 - in their second innings at Colwyn Bay.

Gareth Rees chipped in with 62 during a second-wicket stand of 150 with Maynard, who hit 16 boundaries in the process of scoring 98 at more than a run a ball before edging Matt Mason (3-64) to second slip.

His dismissal triggered a string of three wickets in seven overs before Wright and Jim Allenby (62) steadied the ship with a partnership of 135 for the fifth wicket.

Earlier, Worcestershire had resumed from 281-6 overnight and fell victim to the new ball as Huw Waters (2-92) bowled Ben Cox for two in the second over of the day.

Daryl Mitchell, who completed his century on day two, kept the scoreboard ticking over by reaching 165 not out before the visitors declared on 350-8.

Day two

Daryl Mitchell continued his good recent form with another century as Worcestershire reached 281-6 in reply to Glamorgan's first innings of 369 at stumps on day two.

Opening batsman Mitchell, fresh from scoring a hundred in each innings of last week's win over Gloucestershire, finished unbeaten on 136.

The Pears looked in trouble at 38-3 before Mitchell shared stands worth 145 with Alexei Kervezee (72) and 92 with Shakib Al Hasan (47) for the fourth and fifth wickets respectively.

Mitchell brought up his fourth ton of the season from 178 balls in the evening session and stood firm to reach the close unbeaten, having faced 221 deliveries and hit 17 fours thus far.

The right-hander will resume alongside Ben Cox (2no) on the third morning at Colwyn Bay requiring a further 34 runs to reach 1,000 in the LV County Championship this season.

At the start of the day, Glamorgan's last-wicket pair Dean Cosker (41no) and Huw Waters (10) had extended their stand to 51 as the Welsh county advanced from an overnight position of 319-9 to 369 before Shakib (3-38) bowled Waters.

Day one

Mark Cosgrove, Ben Wright and Jamie Dalrymple contributed half-centuries as Glamorgan reached 319-9 on the first day against Worcestershire at Colwyn Bay.

Opening pair Cosgrove and Gareth Rees (25) got the innings off to a flying start with a 100-run stand at better than four-an-over after skipper Dalrymple had won the toss and opted to bat first.

Cosgrove advanced to 84 off just 75 balls - including 15 fours and a six - before the Australian left-hander became one of two victims for Worcestershire spinner Shakib Al Hasan (2-35).

Fourth-wicket pair Wright (72) and Dalrymple (56) took the Welsh county to the brink of a second batting bonus point with a partnership of 97.

But Worcestershire hit back with six wickets after tea, seamers Matt Mason (2-62), Alan Richardson (2-50) and Richard Jones (2-93) all in the thick of the action.

Match Details

9th - 12th Aug 2010
Colwyn Bay
P J Hartley and N J Llong


Batsman R
Mitchell c Dalrymple b Harrison 45
Wheeldon run out 26
Solanki lbw b Allenby 10
Ali c Wallace b Allenby 0
Kervezee c Wallace b Harrison 45
Al Hasan b Cosker 25
Cameron lbw b Harrison 12
Cox c Dalrymple b Cosker 1
Jones lbw b Cosker 0
Mason lbw b Cosker 3
Richardson not out 1
Extras 5nb, 2lb 7
Total All out, 59.5 Overs 175
Full Batting Card

glamorgan BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
Harrison 14 1 48 3
Waters 14 4 31 0
Croft 7 5 11 0
Allenby 11 2 36 2
Cosgrove 3 0 20 0
Cosker 10.5 5 27 4
Full Bowling Card