Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Nottinghamshire win by 87 runs

Glamorgan vs Notts

Yorkshire Bank 40 final: Nottinghamshire beat Glamorgan

Nottinghamshire: Claimed a first limited-overs title since winning the old Sunday League in 1991

Nottinghamshire have been crowned Yorkshire Bank 40 champions after beating Glamorgan by 87 runs in the Lord's final.

The Outlaws, who ended a 22-year wait for a limited-overs trophy, set a total of 244-8 which proved far too much for the Welsh county.

A fifth-wicket stand of 99 between skipper Chris Read (53) and David Hussey (42) proved crucial, stabilising the Notts innings following a bright start by Glamorgan, who won the toss and elected to bowl.

Notts claim YB40 title

Samit Patel, Ajmal Shahzad and Stuart Broad then took three wickets each as Glamorgan were bowled out for just 157, Patel producing two brilliant deliveries to take the key wickets of Chris Cooke and Jim Allenby.

Much had been made of the fact that Nottinghamshire were able to call on the services of England duo Broad and Graeme Swann, but it was Patel who impressed most with the ball.

The 28-year-old ended with figures of 3-21 from his seven overs, a performance which saw him win the man of the match award.

Harry Gurney and Shahzad did the early damage, the former removing Mark Wallace for two and the latter Gareth Rees for 29 before Cooke and Allenby steadied the ship.

Patel impact

Patel's introduction to the attack changed all that, however, as he took three wickets in nine balls, bowling Cooke (46) and Allenby (34) with a pair of jaffas before snaring Murray Goodwin lbw for eight.

The triple strike left Glamorgan struggling on 118-5 and Shahzad (3-33) plunged them into even more trouble by removing Ben Wright (14) and Andrew Salter (2) within the space of four balls.

Notts secure YB40 title

Broad (3-29) wrapped things up in the 33rd over when he dismissed Dean Cosker (3), Graham Wagg (18) and Simon Jones for a duck to spark the celebrations.

Earlier Glamorgan showed signs that they might pull off a shock win when they took four top-order wickets in 10 overs.

Michael Lumb (28) gave a return catch to Salter before Jones removed Alex Hales for 18 after he drove to Goodwin at deep cover.

Another two wickets fell in successive overs as Patel holed out to Rees off Salter for 10 and Jones produced a fine ball which nipped off the seam to have James Taylor (22) caught behind.

Hussey and Read responded well, tipping the game back in Nottinghamshire's favour before the latter sliced Michael Hogan to Cooke.

But Read's dismissal did not deter his side as Steven Mullaney (21) and Swann (29 not out) kept the runs flowing late on, the Outlaws scoring 47 in their final four-over powerplay.

Match Details

21st Sep 2013
Glamorgan won the toss and elected to bowl.
P J Hartley, R A Kettleborough
TV Umpire
N A Mallender

glamorgan BATTING CARD

Batsman R
G.P. Rees b Shahzad 29
M.A. Wallace c Taylor b Gurney 2
C.B. Cooke b Patel 46
J. Allenby b Patel 34
M.W. Goodwin lbw Patel 6
B.J. Wright c Lumb b Shahzad 14
G.G. Wagg c Read b Broad 18
A.G. Salter lbw Shahzad 2
D.A. Cosker c Mullaney b Broad 3
M.G. Hogan b Broad 0
Extras 1w, 2b, 3
Total All Out, 33.0 Overs 157
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
S.C.J. Broad 7 0 29 3
H.F. Gurney 5 0 22 1
A. Shahzad 6 0 33 3
G.P. Swann 6 0 36 0
S.J. Mullaney 2 0 14 0
S.R. Patel 7 0 21 3
Full Bowling Card