Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 4 of 4
Essex win by an innings and 25 runs

Essex vs Leics

County Championship: Essex cruise past rock-bottom Leicestershire

Graham Napier: Struck twice on the final day for Essex

Leicestershire captain Matt Boyce produced some resilience but was unable to rescue his side

Essex bolstered their promotion bid with an innings and 25 runs victory over Leicestershire at Chelmsford in Division Two of the County Championship.

The visitors resumed on the final morning needing 109 to make Essex bat again with just seven wickets in hand.

Leicestershire's innings capitulated in less than two hours as off-spinner Greg Smith recorded career best figures of 5-42 as the hosts strengthened their promotion challenge.

Any hopes of a Leicestershire comeback were duly thwarted when the overnight pairing of Joe Burns and Shiv Thakor parted with the total just 62.

Thakor handed a simple catch to Hamish Rutherford at leg slip off the bowling of Smith while Burns fell to the left-arm pace of Tymal Mills.


Leg-spinner Tom Craddock was introduced to the attack and dismissed Josh Cobb in his opening over, meaning Matt Boyce was the lone frontline batsman in the Leicestershire order.

Despite being out of action yesterday with back spasms, the Leicestershire captain produced a resilient 19 in a vain attempt to keep Essex at bay.

Boyce's efforts lasted almost an hour before Essex wicketkeeper James Foster held on to a fine diving catch off the bowling of Graham Napier before the Leicestershire tail was swept aside with ease.

Ollie Freckingham hit five boundaries in a belligerent 24 before he was caught in the deep by David Masters to give Napier his second wicket of the day.

However, it was little consolation for the visitors, who were forced to settle for just five points as they remain rooted to the foot of the table and continue their search for a first Championship win of the campaign.

Essex, meanwhile, completed the double over Leicestershire having beaten them by four wickets last month as they continue to make strides up the Division Two standings.

Match Details

17th - 20th Jul 2013
Leicestershire won the toss and elected to bat.
The Ford County Ground
D J Millns, C Shamsuddin


Batsman R
G.P. Smith c Foster b Mills 0
N.J. O'Brien c Foster b Smith 18
J.A. Burns c Foakes b Mills 21
S.J. Thakor c Rutherford b Smith 3
J.J. Cobb lbw Craddock 1
M.A.G. Boyce c Foster b Napier 19
A.J. Ireland b Smith 13
O.H. Freckingham c Masters b Napier 24
J.S. Sykes Not out 1
A.C.F. Wyatt s Foster b Smith 10
Extras 2nb, 4b, 2lb 8
Total All Out, 43.3 Overs 131
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
D.D. Masters 5 2 17 0
T.S. Mills 9 2 24 2
G.M. Smith 17.3 4 42 5
T.R. Craddock 9 2 29 1
G.R. Napier 3 0 13 2
Full Bowling Card