Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Delhi Daredevils won by 14 runs.

Delhi vs Rajasthan

Daredevils crush Royals

Ninth win in 12 matches for Delhi

De Villiers: fine knock

Indian Premier League
Delhi Daredevils 150-3 Innings Complete (A B de Villiers 79 no)v Rajasthan Royals 136-9 Innings Complete
Delhi Daredevils beat Rajasthan Royals by 14 runs

AB de Villiers smashed an unbeaten half century as the Delhi Daredevils clinched their place in the Indian Premier League semi-finals with a 14-run win over the Rajasthan Royals.

The South African hit an unbeaten 55-ball 79 - his third half-century of the tournament - to help Delhi post a challenging 150 for three. Delhi then restricted Rajasthan to 136 for nine to post their ninth win in 12 matches.

South African Johan Botha top-scored with 37 in a below-par batting performance from the defending champions. Ravinder Jadeja (24) and last-man Munaf Patel (23 not out) were the other notable contributors.

Delhi leg-spinner Amit Mishra bagged three wickets in his last over to finish with three for 33.

Man of the match de Villiers propped up the innings with an 87-run stand for the third wicket with Tillakaratne Dishan (33) after openers Gautam Gambhir (eight) and Virender Sehwag (two) had fallen in seamer Patel's second over.

The South African then put on 48 for the fourth wicket with Dinesh Karthik, with 35 coming in the last two overs.

Karthik remained unbeaten with 23 off just 11 deliveries.

Match Details

17th May 2009
Springbok Park, Bloemfontein
S S Hazare and I L Howell

rajasthan BATTING CARD

Batsman R
Quiney c Nehra 6
Smith c Salvi b Nannes 0
Ojha c Sehwag b Salvi 9
Botha c Sehwag b Maharoof 37
Jadeja c Karthik b Salvi 24
Pathan c Karthik b Maharoof 1
Raut b Mishra 11
Warne st Karthik b Mishra 6
Singh st Karthik b Mishra 0
Trivedi not out 6
Patel not out 23
Extras 2nb, 5w, 6lb 13
Total Close, 20.0 Overs 136 - 9
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Nehra 3 0 8 1
Nannes 4 0 33 1
Salvi 4 0 19 2
Maharoof 4 0 27 2
Mishra 4 0 33 3
Dilshan 1 0 10 0
Full Bowling Card