Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Highveld Lions win by 22 runs

Delhi vs Highveld Lions

Highveld Lions beat Delhi Daredevils to make Champions League Twenty20 final

Lions celebrate making it into Champions League final

Christopher Morris: Celebrates another wicket

Highveld Lions booked their place in the final of the Champions League Twenty20 competition after a 22-run victory over Delhi Daredevils in Durban.

Gulam Bodi top scored for the Lions as they were asked to bat first when Delhi won the toss, and his 50 was added to by a superb unbeaten 46 from Neil McKenzie which really fired his side on to a very competitive total of 139-5 from their 20 overs.

Delhi endured the worst possible start as they lost opener Virender Sehwag in the first over when he skied his first ball high into the night sky and was caught at mid-on for a first-ball duck.

Kevin Pietersen came to the crease to join David Warner and they settled the team down with a 35-run stand before the Australian left-hander went for 21 when he was caught and bowled by Christopher Morris in the sixth over.

Pietersen took centre stage from then on but saw wickets continue to tumble down the other end with nobody else able to get into double figures until a late Morne Morkel flurry once the game was already out of reach.

Pietersen had looked like he could be able to dig his IPL side out of trouble as he brought up his 50 off 43 balls but at the start of the 17th over Delhi had seven wickets down and still needed 48 from the remaining 48 balls and the England man needed to get a move on.

Trying to attack, Pietersen sent his next delivery off Morris flying high into the air and wicketkeeper Thami Tsolekile made the diving grab which effectively sealed a place in the final.

Morkel slapped a late 18 runs including a huge six but the target was already out of reach and the Daredevils closed on 117-9 as the Lions moved on into the final where they will face either the Titans or Sixers for the title.

Match Details

25th Oct 2012
Delhi Daredevils won the toss and elected to bowl.
H D P K Dharmasena and R J Tucker


Batsman R
Warner c&b C.H. Morris 21
Sehwag c Petersen b Tanvir 0
Pietersen c Tsolekile b C.H. Morris 50
U. Chand c J. Symes b D. Pretorius 9
Pathan c de Kock b A.M. Phangiso 1
Taylor c&b Nannes 1
Ojha c&b J. Symes 7
P. Negi lbw b A.M. Phangiso 0
Agarkar c Petersen b Nannes 2
M Morkel not out 18
Yadav not out 1
Extras 3w, 4lb 7
Total 20.0 Overs 117 - 9
Full Batting Card

highveld lions BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
Tanvir 4 0 22 1
Nannes 4 0 34 2
C.H. Morris 4 0 7 2
A.M. Phangiso 4 0 18 2
J. Symes 3 0 22 1
D. Pretorius 1 0 10 1
Full Bowling Card