Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Chennai Super Kings won by 86 runs.

Delhi vs Chennai

Super Kings seal final place

Vijay century sees champions return to the final

Murali Vijay: Scored 113 as the Super Kings beat the Daredevils by 86 runs

Murali Vijay scored a century as the Chennai Super Kings stormed into the Indian Premier League final with an 86-run win over the Delhi Daredevils on Friday.

Vijay, who also scored a hundred in the 2010 edition, became the first Indian to hammer two centuries in the IPL after cracking four sixes and 15 fours in his quickfire 58-ball 113.

The defending champions posted a commanding 222-5 off their 20 overs, a stiff target Delhi never looked like achieving as they were bowled out in the 17th over for 136.

The Chennai batsmen, led by Vijay, earlier dominated the Delhi attack which was without South African paceman Morne Morkel, the tournament's leading bowler with 25 wickets in 16 matches.

Vijay put on 69 runs for the second wicket with Suresh Raina (27 off 17 balls) and 39 for the fifth wicket with West Indies' Dwayne Bravo, who smashed a 12-ball 33 not out with the help of two sixes and three fours.

Delhi seamer Varun Aaron bagged two wickets but conceded 63 runs in four overs, the most ever by a bowler in an IPL innings.

Sri Lankan Mahela Jayawardene top-scored for Delhi with a 38-ball 55, hitting two sixes and four boundaries, but his brave efforts proved in vain as their run chase fell well short.

Chennai will now take on Kolkata Knight Riders in the final at the Chidambaram stadium in Chennai on Sunday.

Match Details

25th May 2012
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
B R Doctrove and S J A Taufel


Batsman R
Jayawardene b Ashwin 55
Warner c Vijay b Hilfenhaus 3
Sehwag c Hussey b Morkel 1
Taylor c Raina b Bravo 24
Russell c Bravo b Ashwin 17
Ojha c Vijay b Jakati 7
Venugopal Rao run out 10
Negi not out 8
Gupta st Dhoni b Jakati 0
Yadav b Ashwin 1
Aaron run out 0
Extras 7w, 1b, 2lb 10
Total All out, 16.5 Overs 136
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Hilfenhaus 3 0 17 1
Morkel 3 0 28 1
Jakati 4 0 40 2
Ashwin 3.5 0 24 3
Bravo 3 0 24 1
Full Bowling Card