Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Deccan Chargers won by 6 runs.

Deccan vs Bangalore

Chargers crowned IPL kings

Gibbs smashes unbeaten 53 to take the Chargers to glory

Gibbs: Fine form

Indian Premier League - Final
Deccan Chargers 143-6 (H H Gibbs 53 no, A Kumble 4-16) v Bangalore Royal Challengers 137-9
Deccan Chargers beat Bangalore Royal Challengers by 6 runs

Herschelle Gibbs scored an unbeaten half-century to help the Deccan Chargers complete a remarkable turnaround with victory in the 2009 Indian Premier League final.

The South African batsman might have been largely overshadowed by his opening partner Adam Gilchrist in the tournament, but Gibbs showed all his star quality when it mattered on Sunday to help the Chargers to a six-run win over the Bangalore Royal Challengers.

Gibbs top scored with 53 runs off 48 balls as the Chargers posted 143-6 before a solid bowling display saw the Challengers restricted to 137-9.

The triumph caps a remarkable season for Deccan after ending the inaugural season of the lucrative Twenty20 competition at the bottom of the table.


Bangalore captain Anil Kumble had earlier claimed four wickets for just 16 from his four overs after electing to bowl first.

After just three deliveries he had his opposite number Gilchrist, the second highest run scorer in the competition, stumped by Mark Boucher for a duck after charging down the track.

Three overs later Vinay Kumar (2-30) had Tirumalasetti Suman caught off a leading edge by Manish Pandey running back from point for 10.

Andrew Symonds came in and, after being dropped by Rahul Dravid at slip early on, looked dangerous right through his 33-run 21-ball stay before being bowled by Kumble.

Deccan, though, managed to reach the halfway stage without any further trouble as Gibbs and Rohit Sharma added some much needed stability before Pandey took a well-judged catch off Kumble on the long-off boundary to see off the latter for 24.


After setting a target of 144 for victory, RP Singh once again justified his position as the tournament's most successful bowler by bowling Jacques Kallis for 15.

Wickets fell at all too regular intervals thereafter, only Roelof van der Merwe (32), Ross Taylor (27) and Robin Uthappa (17 not out) made it into double figures for the Challengers.

Symonds and Harmeet Singh finished with two wickets apeice and Pragyan Ojha picked up three to make sure Bangalore fell just short.

RP Singh's bowling at the death proved decisive, though, as he earned magnificent figures of 1-16 from four overs.

Match Details

24th May 2009
R E Koertzen and S J A Taufel

bangalore BATTING CARD

Batsman R
Kallis b Singh 15
Pandey c Gilchrist b Ojha 4
van der Merwe st Gilchrist b Ojha 32
Dravid b Singh 9
Taylor c Venugopal Rao b Symonds 27
Kohli st Gilchrist b Symonds 7
Boucher c Gibbs b Singh 5
Uthappa not out 17
P.Kumar c Ojha 2
V.Kumar c Singh b Harris 8
Kumble not out 1
Extras 1w, 9lb 10
Total Close, 20.0 Overs 137 - 9
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Harris 4 1 34 1
Singh 4 0 16 1
Symonds 3 0 18 2
Ojha 4 0 28 3
Singh 4 0 23 2
Sharma 1 0 9 0
Full Bowling Card