Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Chennai Super Kings win by 48 runs

Chennai vs Mumbai

Indian Premier League: Chennai Super Kings reach final after 48-run victory over Mumbai Indians

Mike Hussey (L) and Suresh Raina (R) starred with the bat for Chennai

Dwayne Smith: Smashed a quick-fire 68 for Mumbai in vain

The Chennai Super Kings beat the Mumbai Indians by 48 runs to progress to their fifth Indian Premier League final in six years.

Michael Hussey and Suresh Raina starred for the Super Kings, both making unbeaten 80s as they posted a highly-competitive looking 192-1 from their 20 overs.

However, Mumbai looked well positioned to overhaul their mammoth target after a blistering start from West Indian all-rounder Dwayne Smith.

The right-hander smashed 68 off just 28 balls, but once he departed in the eighth over the Indians lost wickets at regular intervals and ultimately ended well short.

Having won the toss, Chennai captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni opted to bat and saw his decision vindicated as his side paced their innings perfectly.

Superb partnership

Hussey and Murali Vijay (23) provided a solid if unhurried start before the latter became the only Super Kings wicket to fall as he was caught by Smith off the bowling of fellow West Indian, Kieron Pollard, in the seventh over.

It was then all about Hussey (86) and Raina (82) as they shared in a quite superb unbroken stand of 140, making 123 of those in the final ten overs without appearing to take many risks.

Smith certainly gave Chennai cause for concern as he blazed his brutal half-century to lead Mumbai to 86-1 after seven overs, but - after Ravindra Jadeja had him caught by Raina - Mumbai struggled to maintain the momentum he had built up.

Although Dinesh Kartik and Rohit Sharma went cheaply, Pollard did suggest he could yet turn the contest as he unleashed a couple of trademark sixes.

But when he became the fifth wicket to fall, also picked up by Jadeja who finished with three wickets, Mumbai rather folded and managed to add only another 17 runs as Dwayne Brave ripped through their tail, also helping himself to three wickets.

England v New Zealand Test series - predict the outcome

  • 0-0
  • 1-0 to England
  • 1-0 to New Zealand
  • 1-1
  • 2-0 to England
  • 2-0 to New Zealand

Match Details

21st May 2013
Chennai Super Kings won the toss and elected to bat.
Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi
N J Nigel, R J Rodney
TV Umpire
Match Referee
R S Roshan
Reserve Umpire


Batsman R
D.R. Smith c Raina b Jadeja 68
A.P. Tare c Vijay b Morkel 7
D.K. Karthik lbw Jadeja 11
K.A. Pollard c Hussey b Jadeja 24
A.T. Rayudu c Morris b Sharma 15
H. Singh c Vijay b Bravo 0
M.G. Johnson c Raina b Bravo 6
P.P. Ojha c Bravo b Sharma 0
Extras 1nb, 1w, 3lb 5
Total All Out, 18.4 Overs 144
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
M.M. Sharma 3.4 0 32 2
J.A. Morkel 3 0 26 1
C.H. Morris 3 0 26 1
R. Ashwin 2 0 17 0
R.A. Jadeja 4 0 31 3
D.J. Bravo 3 0 9 3
Full Bowling Card