Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Chennai Super Kings win by 15 runs

Chennai vs Kings XI

Indian Premier League: Chennai Super Kings claim seventh straight win thanks to Suresh Raina

Suresh Raina: Match-winning century for Chennai Super Kings

Dwyane Bravo: Three wickets in an over for Chennai

Suresh Raina struck his first Indian Premier League century to inspire Chennai Super Kings to a seventh straight victory at the expense of Kings XI Punjab on Thursday.

The India left-hander cracked a brutal unbeaten 100 off only 53 balls, bringing up his milestone off the penultimate ball of the Super Kings' innings of 186-4.

Shaun Marsh (73 off 51) and David Miller (51 off 26) gave Kings XI hope of reaching the target, however the visitors ultimately came up 12 runs short.

League leaders Chennai have now won nine of their 11 IPL fixtures played and look certainties to reach the semi-final stage.

Raina paced his century beautifully, striking seven boundaries and six almighty maximums, to the delight of the home crowd.

Retired Australia batsman Mike Hussey added a useful 35 up top and Albie Morkel helped Raina finish the innings with a flourish with a quickfire unbeaten 23.

Another Aussie left-hander, Marsh, then ignited hopes of an unlikely Kings XI victory after Luke Pomersbach (7) and Mandeep Singh (15) had fallen early in the run-chase.

Marsh shared a 95-run partnership with hard-hitting South African David Miller for the fourth wicket to put Kings XI within 19 runs of victory at the start of the final over.

But he couldn't finish the job, West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo (3-34) making him the first of three wickets to fall in a brilliant, and decisive, last over.

Match Details

2nd May 2013
Chennai Super Kings won the toss and elected to bat.
M.A. Chidambaram Stadium
M Marais, V A Vineet
TV Umpire
N J Nigel
Match Referee
S Satayabrata
Reserve Umpire


Batsman R
L.A. Pomersbach b Sharma 7
M. Singh c Raina b Sharma 15
S.E. Marsh b Bravo 73
D.J. Hussey c Bravo b Ashwin 22
D.A. Miller Not out 51
G.R. Singh c Hussey b Bravo 0
R. Sathish lbw Bravo 0
M. Gony Not out 0
Extras 3lb 3
Total 20.0 Overs 171 - 6
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
J.A. Morkel 4 0 20 0
M.M. Sharma 4 0 31 2
R. Ashwin 4 0 33 1
C.H. Morris 3 0 31 0
S.K. Raina 1 0 19 0
D.J. Bravo 4 0 34 3
Full Bowling Card