Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Chennai Super Kings win by 33 runs

Chennai vs Delhi

Indian Premier League: Delhi Daredevils fall well short in Chennai

Mahendra Singh Dhoni: Hit an unbeaten 58 as the Super Kings posted 168-4

David Warner: Made 44 in a losing cause for the Daredevils

The Chennai Super Kings have returned to the top of the Indian Premier League after recording a 33-run victory over the Delhi Daredevils in Chepauk.

Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni hit an unbeaten 58 as the Super Kings posted 168-4, a total the Daredevils never really got near as they laboured to 135-9 in reply.

Delhi's hopes of a rare away victory were dealt a major blow when they lost Virender Sehwag to just the second delivery of their run chase, Mohit Sharma getting the big-hitting opener caught behind before he'd troubled the scorers.

The same bowler also dismissed Unmukt Chand (16) and although Johan Botha weighed in with 23, the Daredevils found themselves five down with only 63 runs on the board.


David Warner tried to keep them in the hunt with 44, though the Australian was becalmed by his usual standards, facing 37 deliveries for his runs. He'd hit a six and two fours by the time he fell to Albie Morkel (3-32).

Ravi Ashwin and Dwayne Bravo also played their part with the ball, both taking 2-19, as Chennai took over at the summit from the Mumbai Indians.

Openers Michael Hussey (26) and Murali Vijay (31) had given the Super Kings the perfect platform in their innings, putting on 61 before both fell in quick succession.

Suresh Raina managed just seven but Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja (24) shared a fourth-wicket stand worth 57 in 38 deliveries before the latter was bowled by Umesh Yadav.

Dhoni hit four sixes and two fours as he carried on to the end, Bravo adding an unbeaten 12 to get the hosts to a total their bowlers comfortably defended.

Match Details

14th May 2013
Chennai Super Kings won the toss and elected to bat.
M.A. Chidambaram Stadium
C Chettithody, R J Rodney
TV Umpire
S Subrat
Match Referee
A J Andrew
Reserve Umpire


Batsman R
V. Sehwag c Dhoni b Sharma 0
U. Chand c Holder b Sharma 16
J. Botha c Holder b Ashwin 23
D.A. Warner c Vijay b Morkel 44
K.M. Jadhav c Dhoni b Morkel 2
B.J. Rohrer c Ashwin b Morkel 4
R.E. van der Merwe c Raina b Ashwin 14
I.K. Pathan b Bravo 4
U. Yadav Not out 12
A. Nehra c Dhoni b Bravo 0
S. Kaul Not out 7
Extras 5w, 4lb 9
Total 20.0 Overs 135 - 9
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
M.M. Sharma 4 0 22 2
J.O. Holder 4 0 39 0
R. Ashwin 4 0 19 2
J.A. Morkel 4 0 32 3
D.J. Bravo 4 0 19 2
Full Bowling Card