Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Pakistan win by 8 wickets

Bangladesh vs Pakistan

Pakistan reach Super Eights

Bangladesh unable to cause upset in final group game

Imran Nazir and Mohammad Hafeez ensured Pakistan's safe passage

Pakistan eased into the final stages of the World Twenty20 with a comfortable eight-wicket victory over Bangladesh.

With a superior run-rate in the group D clash in Pallekele, Pakistan needed only to score 140 to be assured of progression - even in defeat.

But Bangladesh would have been mildly hopeful of a shock after amassing 175-6, helped by Shakib Al Hasan's 84 from 54 balls, while Yasir Arafat snared three wickets to impress with the ball.

Pakistan could even afford a few lapses in the field, including Sohail Tanvir's woeful failed attempt at catching Mushfiqur Rahim and Umar Gul conceding 43 from his three overs.

However, with Imran Nazir's fireworks at the crease, the result was rarely in doubt, but how different it could have been had the explosive opener not been dropped in the second over by Abul Hasan.

An unlucky lbw appeal by Shakib was another mini scare, but from then on Pakistan's openers were in cruise control as Nazir secured the tournament's fastest 50 from 25 balls.

Hasan got his reward by capturing Nazir (72) and Mohammad Hafeez (45), but it was all too late as Pakistan guaranteed their Super Eights spot in the 16th over when reaching 140.

And victory was soon secured as Nasir Jamshed (30 off 14) and Kamran Akmal calmed any late nerves to safely steer their team home with eight balls to spare.

Match Details

25th Sep 2012
Bangladesh won the toss and elected to bat.
Pallekele International Cricket Stadium
S J Davis and I J Gould


Batsman R
Hafeez c Rahim b M.A. Hasan 45
Nazir c sub M.A. Hasan 72
Jamshed not out 29
Akmal not out 22
Extras 7w, 1b, 2lb 10
Total 18.4 Overs 178 - 2
Full Batting Card

bangladesh BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
Mortaza 3 0 30 0
S. Islam 2.4 0 35 0
Razzak 4 0 30 0
Al Hasan 4 0 23 0
M.A. Hasan 3 0 33 2
Mahmudullah 2 0 24 0
Full Bowling Card