Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Royal Challengers Bangalore win by 7 wickets

Bangalore vs Hyderabad

Indian Premier League: Royal Challengers Bangalore defeat Sunrisers Hyderabad

Virat Kohli: The RCB skipper hit an unbeaten knock of 93

Cameron White: His 50 could not help Hyderabad to victory

A magnificent 93 not out by Virat Kohli helped Royal Challengers Bangalore gain sweet revenge over Sunrisers Hyderabad with a seven-wicket win in the Indian Premier League.

The RCB skipper was a man on fire in an innings which included 11 boundaries and four maximums at the Chinnaswamy Stadium to ensure his side recorded a much-needed victory with 14 balls to spare.

Hyderabad hit 161-6 from their 20 overs as Cameron White (52) and Thisara Perera (40) a competitive total, but the hosts responded by reaching their target with 3.2 overs to spare.

The table-topping Sunrisers were aiming to make it a hat-trick of wins and skipper Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and opted to bat.

There were a total of seven sixes and 10 fours in the innings and the White-Perera partnership proved particularly explosive as they made a quick-fire 50 in just 33 balls.

Quick runs

Bangalore's Mayank Agarwal came out firing at the start of the run chase and struck three fours and two sixes in a total of 29 before lofting Thisara Perera's slow ball up into the air and into the grateful hands of Sangakkara.

Fast bowler Ishant Sharma then got the prized wicket of Chris Gayle for an unlucky 13 with a good length ball which was edged behind to Parthiv Patel and AB De Villiers was next to perish for 15 after being caught in the deep by Hanuma Vihari off White's spin.

Kohli then slammed a 31-ball fifty and following a strategic timeout with five overs remaining the Delhi-born player took a firm grip of proceedings to see his side home with a man-of-the-match performance.

Match Details

9th Apr 2013
Sunrisers Hyderabad won the toss and elected to bat.
M.Chinnaswamy Stadium
S Ravi and S J A Taufel

bangalore BATTING CARD

Batsman R
Agarwal c Sangakkara b Perera 29
Gayle c Patel b Sharma 13
Kohli not out 93
de Villiers c Vihari b White 15
Henriques not out 7
Extras 4w, 1lb 5
Total 17.4 Overs 162 - 3
Full Batting Card

hyderabad BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
Vihari 1 0 12 0
Steyn 4 0 16 0
Sharma 3.4 0 30 1
Perera 3 0 35 1
Mishra 4 0 42 0
A.A. Reddy 1 0 12 0
White 1 0 14 1
Full Bowling Card