Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Bangalore Royal Challengers won by 6 wickets.

Bangalore vs Pune

Royal finish from Bangalore

Tiwary slams final ball for six to seal remarkable victory

Robin Uthappa: opener top-scored for Pune with 69

The Royal Challengers Bangalore pipped the Pune Warriors in a thrilling final over to register their second win in this year's Indian Premier League.

Needing 20 off the last five balls, AB de Villiers gave the Challengers hope when he clobbered Ashish Nehra for a four and two sixes, leaving the equation at a much more comfortable four from two.

After the South African squeezed a single to mid-wicket, it was left to Saurabh Tiwary to finish the job. The left-hander duly obliged, pumping poor Nehra straight down the ground for a maximum.

Defeat was tough on Pune, who after making a total of 182-4 seemed to be in control once they had removed the always-dangerous Chris Gayle.

Brutal hitting

The West Indies opener single-handedly kept the Challengers alive with some brutal hitting, including taking leg-spinner Rahul Sharma for five successive sixes in one over.

Gayle cleared the rope eight times in total but when he was clean bowled for 81 from just 48 balls by Nehra, the Warriors looked to be on course for victory.

That was, however, until De Villiers - who finished up unbeaten on 33 from 14 balls - and Tiwary (36 not out) produced a stunning finish to a see-saw contest, the pair putting on a match-winning alliance worth 59.

The Warriors had earlier set a challenging target thanks to Robin Uthappa's 69, the Indian sharing an opening stand of 63 with Jesse Ryder (34) before adding a further 45 with skipper Sourav Ganguly, who contributed just six.

Daniel Vettori eventually ended Uthappa's innings, but Marlon Samuels continued the onslaught with 34 from 20 deliveries. He also took 1-5 with the ball, though strangely was only used for two overs by Ganguly.

Match Details

17th Apr 2012
S Asnani and S Das

bangalore BATTING CARD

Batsman R
Dilshan c Uthappa b Dinda 4
Gayle b Nehra 81
Agarwal c Manhas b Samuels 9
Kohli c Sharma b Mathews 16
Tiwary not out 36
de Villiers not out 33
Extras 2nb, 3w, 1b, 1lb 7
Total Close, 20.0 Overs 186 - 4
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Dinda 4 0 28 1
Nehra 4 0 54 1
Kumar 4 0 27 0
Samuels 2 0 5 1
Mathews 4 0 35 1
Sharma 2 0 35 0
Full Bowling Card