Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Deccan Chargers won by 7 wickets.

Bangalore vs Deccan

Win re-charges Deccan hopes

Suman and Symonds combine to see off Royal Challengers

Symonds: powered Deccan home

The Deccan Chargers stayed in the Indian Premier League play-off hunt with a seven-wicket success over the Bangalore Royal Challengers.

Tirumalasetti Suman and Andrew Symonds shared an unbroken fourth-wicket stand of 91 to see the Chargers to a target of 185 with four balls to spare.

Suman finished 78 not out from 57 balls, including six fours and three sixes, while Symonds' contribution was an unbeaten 53 off 24 deliveries.

The Queenslander finished the game in style with consecutive boundaries, a six followed by a four, at the start of the final over, bowled by Vinay Kumar (1-39).

Earlier, the Royal Challengers made a score of 184-6 after being asked to bat first.

Orange cap

Opener Jacques Kallis, was is the current owner of the orange cap as the leading run scorer in the IPL, hit 68 off 44 balls but was given little support from the rest of the top five.

Virat Kohli (58), however, helped add 95 after joining the South African at 68-4 in the 11th over.

Both fell in the final two overs before Cameron White (13no) ended the innings with succesive sixes.

The Chargers, who are the defending IPL champions, remain seventh in the table but are now just two points behind three other teams, including the Royal Challengers.

Match Details

8th Apr 2010
S Asnani and D J Harper


Batsman R
Gilchrist st Uthappa b Kumble 32
Mishra c Uthappa b P.Kumar 9
Suman not out 78
Sharma c Steyn b V.Kumar 6
Symonds not out 53
Extras 6w, 2lb 8
Total Close, 19.2 Overs 186 - 3
Full Batting Card

bangalore BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
P.Kumar 4 0 37 1
Kumble 4 0 38 1
Steyn 4 0 38 0
Kallis 4 0 32 0
V.Kumar 3.2 0 39 1
Full Bowling Card