Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Australia win by 107 runs

Australia vs Sri Lanka

Australia v Sri Lanka, 1st ODI: Phil Hughes shines on debut at MCG

Phil Hughes: Scored 112 on ODI debut at the MCG

George Bailey: Captain made 89 from just 79 deliveries

Phil Hughes became the first Australian to score a century on his limited-overs international debut as Sri Lanka crashed to a 107-run defeat in the opening ODI at the MCG.

Left-hander Hughes cracked 112 while captain George Bailey (89) and Dave Hussey (60no) added late impetus to help the hosts post 305-5 batting first.

Sri Lanka started brightly in reply thanks to half-centuries from Dinesh Chandimal (73) and Tillakaratne Dilshan (51) but Clint McKay (4-33) put paid to their hopes of victory as they crumbled to 198 all out.

Hughes had been made to wait for his international debut in one-dayers and he seized his opportunity in style to put Sri Lanka on the backfoot from the outset.

The Australia top three were all making their first ODI appearances however Aaron Finch (16) and Usman Khawaja (3) made little impression as Hughes stole the show.

The 24-year-old struck 14 boundaries in total and shared a run-a-ball 140 partnership with captain Bailey for the fourth wicket, a stand which set the platform for Hussey's late fireworks.

Despite losing two early wickets, Sri Lanka were in the game at 111-2 after 25 overs with Dilshan and Chandimal looking comfortable at the crease.

However a period of madness that saw Australia complete three run outs - two of which were direct hits - in less than five overs effectively ended the contest as Dilshan, Angelo Mathews and Lahiru Thirimanne were sent back.

Pacemen McKay, a standout performer with figures of 4-33, and Mitchell Johnson mopped up the tail as Sri Lanka were eventually dismissed for 198 in front of 27,461 fans in Melbourne, giving Australia a 1-0 lead after the opener in the five-match series.

Match Details

11th Jan 2013
Australia won the toss and elected to bat.
Melbourne Cricket Ground
R A Kettleborough and P R Reiffel

sri lanka BATTING CARD

Batsman R
Tharanga c M A Starc 1
Dilshan run out 51
Jayawardene c Finch b C.J. McKay 5
L.D. Chandimal c C.J. McKay 73
Mathews run out 12
B.M.A.J. Mendis c Bailey b Johnson 20
Perera c Bailey b Johnson 4
Kulasekara c Bailey b C.J. McKay 18
Malinga not out 1
B.A.W. Mendis c C.J. McKay 0
Extras 9w, 2b, 2lb 13
Total All Out, 40.0 Overs 198
Full Batting Card

australia BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
M A Starc 6 0 25 1
C.J. McKay 8 0 33 4
Johnson 9 1 43 2
Doherty 8 0 41 0
Maxwell 4 0 28 0
Hussey 5 0 24 0
Full Bowling Card