Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets.

Australia vs Sri Lanka

Aussies pummelled in Perth

Sangakkara and Randiv star in T20 triumph

Malinga celebrates the wicket of White at the WACA

Sri Lanka have extended Australia's winless run to seven matches following a seven-wicket win in the one-off Twenty20 international at Perth.

LIVE ON SKY SPORTS Follow the Ashes live on Sky Sports HD, online and on mobile this winter. Sky Sports HD will show every ball of the Test and one-day series while will provide up to the minute coverage including scores and text commentary, match reports, video interviews and highlights plus columns by Sky Sports commentators. SKY BET ODDS: Australia are 4/6 to win the upcoming Ashes Series after their winless run stretched to seven following defeat to Sri Lanka in the T20 international. Bet now.

The Australians, who have not won a match in all formats since beating Pakistan in the first Test in England back in July, saw their one-day woes continue with a comprehensive defeat at the WACA.

After restricting Michael Clarke's men to just 133-8 - the Aussies' lowest ever T20 total on home soil - Sri Lanka confidently chased down the total with seven wickets and 21 balls to spare.

Captain Kumar Sangakkara (44 not out) and opener Tillakaratne Dilshan (41) both made mincemeat of the target, after spinner Suraj Randiv had claimed 3-25 with the ball.


Australia welcomed back pace bowler Peter Siddle and wicketkeeper Brad Haddin for the opening international of their crunch domestic summer.

But Sangakkara's troops arrived in Perth in confident mood having won the recent Triangular Series against India and New Zealand.

After winning the toss and opting to bat first on a belting track, Australian supporters watched on in disbelief as their side crashed to 43-5 early on.

David Warner (2), Shane Watson (4), Dave Hussey (7) and Cameron White (8) all failed to reach double figures as Sangakkara rotated his bowlers to destructive effect.

Indeed, it wasn't until Haddin and Steven Smith combined that Australia threatened to post a competitive total.

The pair added 66 runs for the sixth wicket, with Haddin cracking 35 off 30 balls and Smith improvising a well-crafted 34 off just 23.

Their efforts helped lift Australia to 133-8, however the total never looked like preventing them from crashing to a fourth successive T20 defeat.


Openers Dilshan and Mahela Jayawardene got the tourists off to a storming start, taking Dirk Nannes' first over for 13 as they exploited the powerplay period expertly.

Their 35-run stand was broken in the fourth over when Siddle, playing in his first international for eight months following injury, removed Jayawardene (24) in his comeback over.

Nannes (1-28) then trapped Dinesh Chandimal lbw for just two to enhance home hopes of an unlikely victory, but Sangakkara and Dilshan had other ideas.

The pair effortlessly took the game away from the hosts with a mixture of attacking intent and well-placed singles.

Dilshan was denied his sixth T20 half-century when he was stumped off the otherwise erratic bowling on offer from Smith (1-33). However, Thisara Perera (17no off four balls) finished the match in style with six, four, six off the leg-spinner.

The first of three one-day internationals between the sides will take place in Melbourne on Wednesday, shown live on Sky Sports 4 from 3am.

Match Details

31st Oct 2010
B N J Oxenford and P R Reiffel

sri lanka BATTING CARD

Batsman R
Jayawardene c Haddin b Siddle 24
Dilshan st Haddin b Smith 41
L.D. Chandimal lbw b Nannes 2
Sangakkara not out 44
Perera not out 17
Extras 1nb, 3w, 3lb 7
Total Close, 16.3 Overs 135 - 3
Full Batting Card

australia BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
McKay 4 1 19 0
Nannes 3 0 28 1
Siddle 4 0 34 1
Hastings 3 0 18 0
Smith 2.3 0 33 1
Full Bowling Card