Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Adelaide Strikers win by 9 wickets

Strikers vs Sydney Sixers

T20 Big Bash: Adelaide Strikers beat Sydney Sixers

Tim Ludeman (left) is congratulated by Michael Klinger after reaching his 50

Strikers captain Johan Botha (middle) celebrates the run out of Smith

Adelaide Strikers routed the Sydney Sixers by nine wickets to move up to second place in the Big Bash League.

Set a modest victory target of 136, the hosts crossed the finishing line with more than four overs to spare after openers Michael Klinger and Tim Ludeman put on 125 for the first wicket.

Klinger was eventually stumped for 53, allowing man-of-the-match Ludeman to hit the winning run.

Ludeman finished 71 not out from just 43 balls after clubbing seven fours and three sixes.

There was always a feeling inside the ground that the Sixers, who have now lost three out of four, were well short of a competitive total.

The average score for the team batting first at the Adelaide Oval is 164, meaning the Sixers were nearly 30 runs short after managing just 135.

The visitors had two back in the hutch with just 10 runs on the board and although Steve Smith hit a brisk half-century, they were always behind the count.

Smith was run out for 58 after a direct hit from Johan Botha. The Strikers' South African skipper also threw down the stumps of opener Steve O'Keefe for just four as the hosts outperformed Sydney in all departments.

Meanwhile, Adelaide's Shaun Tait sent down the fastest ball of the tournament so far (measuring 95.5mph) as he finished with 2-13 to deny the Sixers any late momentum.

The Big Bash now takes a Christmas break.

Match Details

23rd Dec 2012
Sydney Sixers won the toss and elected to bat.
Adelaide Oval
S D Fry and S J Nogajski


Batsman R
Klinger s O'Keefe 53
T.P. Ludeman not out 71
M.J. Johnston not out 3
Extras 1nb, 8w 9
Total 15.5 Overs 136 - 1
Full Batting Card

sydney sixers BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
Lee 4 0 32 0
O'Keefe 2.5 0 24 1
Narine 4 0 27 0
L.W. Feldman 1 0 14 0
J.K. Lalor 2 0 23 0
Smith 2 0 16 0
Full Bowling Card