Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Brisbane Heat win by 32 runs

Strikers vs Heat

Big Bash League: Brisbane Heat secure 32-run victory over Adelaide Strikers

Craig Kieswetter: Top-scored for the Brisbane Heat on Saturday with 51 runs

Brisbane Heat kept alive their hopes of qualifying for the Big Bash League play-offs following a 32-run victory over Adelaide Strikers.

The Heat won the toss and chose to bat first at the Adelaide Oval, posting 129-7 from their 20 overs with Craig Kieswetter (51) and Ben McDermott (30) their leading scorers.

Joe Burns (9) was the first man to go in the third over, he was the first of Michael Neser's two victims. Lars Pomersbach made 20 from 16 before being bowled by Johan Botha.

Botha also removed Chris Lynn leaving the Heat on 55-3 after 9.3 overs. However, Kieswetter was still at the crease providing the fireworks.

Opener Kieswetter was the star of the show, clubbing two fours and three sixes as his 51 runs came from just 46 deliveries before being caught by Tim Ludeman.

When McDermott departed for 30 so did Brisbane's hopes of turning the screw, although their total only left the Strikers chasing under seven an over.

Run chase

Adelaide's run chase never got going with the sometimes explosive Alex Hales making just three from seven before being trapped LBW from the bowling of Daniel Vettori.

Fellow opener Michael Klinger was next to go caught and bowled by Mark Skeketee. Jono Dean (2) and Phillip Hughes (7) came and went leaving the Strikers on 31-4.

Nathan Reardon and Ludeman managed to steady the ship somewhat, but once Ludeman departed on 20 so did their fading hopes of success.

Both (0) and Neser (5) quickly followed before top-scorer Reardon, 33 from 35, was caught by Skeketee off the bowling of Cameron Gannon.

Tail-enders Kane Richardson (1) and Shaun Tait (0) were unable to provide any late resistance as Brisbane secured a 32-run win that leaves them fourth in the standings.

Match Details

18th Jan 2014
Brisbane Heat won the toss and elected to bat.
Adelaide Oval
S J Nogajski, P Wilson
TV Umpire
I H Lock
Match Referee
D J Harper
Reserve Umpire


Batsman R
M. Klinger c&b Steketee 17
A.D. Hales lbw Vettori 3
J.R. Dean s Kieswetter b Vettori 2
P.J. Hughes c Kieswetter b Hopes 7
N.J. Reardon c Steketee b Gannon 33
T.P. Ludeman c Kieswetter b Hopes 22
J. Botha b Harris 0
M.G. Neser c Harris b Gannon 5
K.W. Richardson c Pomersbach b Gannon 1
J.M. Holland Not out 5
S.W. Tait b Harris 0
Extras 1nb, 1w, 2
Total All Out, 18.2 Overs 97
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
R.J. Harris 3.2 0 14 2
D.L. Vettori 4 0 10 2
M.T. Steketee 3 0 29 1
J.R. Hopes 4 0 24 2
B.C.J. Cutting 2 0 9 0
C.J. Gannon 2 0 11 3
Full Bowling Card