Adrian Nicholls has been fined by a disciplinary panel of the BHA
Last Updated: 22/08/13 5:16pm
Adrian Nicholls: Fined
Jockey Adrian Nicholls has been fined £100 by a disciplinary panel of the British Horseracing Authority after being found guilty on a charge that he acted in a manner "prejudicial to the proper conduct or good reputation of racing".
The matter refers to a tweet Nicholls posted on August 12 after he was given a two-day suspension from the Thirsk stewards for misuse of the whip aboard Rocket Ronnie, winner of the Calverts Carpets Handicap.
Nicholls tweeted: "F**k the 2 days I got great 2 bang 1 in!!"
The jockey accepted that the tweet could have been misconstrued, but the BHA panel were satisfied NIcholls did not intend his tweet to be seen as a criticism of the Thirsk stewards, and that he did not think it was acceptable to break the rules in order to win a race.