The Open 2014

13th-20th July

Presented by

Open Championship: Tiger Woods paired with Graeme McDowell and Louis Oosthuizen

Last Updated: 15/07/13 1:31pm

  • Share:
Tiger Woods: Has been paired with Graeme McDowell and Louis Oosthuizen

Tiger Woods: Has been paired with Graeme McDowell and Louis Oosthuizen

World number one Tiger Woods has been drawn to play alongside Graeme McDowell and 2010 champion Louis Oosthuizen in the first two rounds of this week's Open Championship at Muirfield.

Woods has not played a competitive round since finishing joint 32nd at last month's US Open having been troubled by an injury to his left elbow.

However, the 14-time major champion has insisted he is now fit to compete and played nine holes of practice at Muirfield on Sunday.

The American and his playing partners have been handed an afternoon start on Thursday and will head out at 2:45pm.

Defending champion Ernie Els has been paired with new US Open champion Justin Rose and American Brandt Snedeker, teeing off at 9:11am in the morning.

Rose will be followed onto the course by close friend and Ryder Cup team-mate Ian Poulter, who has American duo Keegan Bradley and Billy Horschel with him at 9:22am.

Rory with Phil

World number two Rory McIlroy has the company of Phil Mickelson - who won the Scottish Open at Castle Stuart on Sunday - and rising Japanese star Hideki Matsuyama at 9.44am.

Another of the marquee groupings sees Masters champion and last year's runner-up Adam Scott join England's Luke Donald and Matt Kuchar of America.

Meanwhile, the group out directly before them at 2:01pm sees Lee Westwood, Charl Schwartzel and Sergio Garcia tee off together.

Crowd favourites Tom Watson and Sir Nick Faldo - who boast eight Open titles between them - find themselves with popular American veteran Fred Couples in the 9:00am slot.

The first shot of the 142nd Open Championship will be struck at 6:32am by Australian veteran Peter Senior, with Scotland's Lloyd Saltman and England's Oliver Fisher making up the first group. The last group does not get under way until 4:13pm.

Tee-off times in the first round of the 142nd Open Championship
(Gbr & Irl unless stated, all times Local)
(x) denotes amateurs

Starting at hole 1:

0632 Lloyd Saltman, Peter Senior (Aus), Oliver Fisher
0643 Robert Karlsson (Swe), Todd Hamilton (USA), Ben Stow
0654 Thomas Aiken (Rsa), Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Tha), Bud Cauley (USA)
0705 Brooks Koepka (USA), Mikko Ilonen (Fin), Ashun Wu (Chn)
0716 David Duval (USA), Bernd Wiesberger (Aut), Chris Wood
0727 Stewart Cink (USA), Scott Stallings (USA), Richard McEvoy
0738 Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spa), K J Choi (Kor), Jimmy Walker (USA)
0749 Ben Curtis (USA), Shane Lowry, Rafael Cabrera Bello (Spa)
0800 Brian Davis, Jonas Blixt (Swe), Graham Delaet (Can)
0811 Robert Garrigus (USA), John Senden (Aus), Marc Warren
0822 Martin Kaymer (Ger), Garrick Porteous, Jason Day (Aus)
0833 Carl Pettersson (Swe), Jason Dufner (USA), David Lynn
0844 Bubba Watson (USA), Nicolas Colsaerts (Bel), Dustin Johnson (USA)
0900 Tom Watson (USA), Sir Nick Faldo, Fred Couples (USA)
0911 Justin Rose, Ernie Els (Rsa), Brandt Snedeker (USA)
0922 Ian Poulter, Keegan Bradley (USA), Billy Horschel (USA)
0933 Richard Sterne (Rsa), Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (Spa), Nick Watney (USA)
0944 Rory McIlroy, Hideki Matsuyama (Jpn), Phil Mickelson (USA)
0955 Tim Clark (Rsa), Scott Piercy (USA), Kevin Streelman (USA)
1006 Shingo Katayama (Jpn), Zach Johnson (USA), Thomas Bjorn (Den)
1017 Angel Cabrera (Arg), Camilo Villegas (Col), Tano Goya (Arg)
1028 Ken Duke (USA), George Coetzee (Rsa), Mark Calcavecchia (USA)
1039 John Huh (USA), Brendan Jones (Aus), Hyung-sung Kim (Kor)
1050 Josh Teater (USA), Steven Tiley, Jimmy Mullen
1101 K.T. Kim (Kor), Steven Jeffress (Aus), Luke Guthrie (USA)
1112 Gareth Wright, John Wade (Aus), Makoto Inoue (Jpn)
1133 Y.E. Yang (Kor), Danny Willett, Johnson Wagner (USA)
1144 Thaworn Wiratchant (Tha), Lucas Glover (USA), Oscar Floren (Swe)
1155 Boo Weekley (USA), Sandy Lyle, Niclas Fasth (Swe)
1206 Grant Forrest, Marcus Fraser (Aus), Mark O'Meara (USA)
1217 Tom Lehman (USA), Thongchai Jaidee (Tha), Fredrik Jacobson (Swe)
1228 Rhys Pugh, Justin Leonard (USA), Marc Leishman (Aus)
1239 Kyle Stanley (USA), Alvaro Quiros (Spa), Alexander Noren (Swe)
1250 Russell Henley (USA), Jordan Spieth (USA), Matthew Fitzpatrick
1301 Michael Thompson (USA), Padraig Harrington, Richie Ramsay
1312 Vijay Singh (Fij), Darren Clarke, Martin Laird
1323 Ryan Moore (USA), Henrik Stenson (Swe), Steven Fox (USA)
1334 Thorbjorn Olesen (Den), Jim Furyk (USA), Paul Lawrie
1345 Harris English (USA), Geoff Ogilvy (Aus), Stephen Gallacher
1401 Charl Schwartzel (Rsa), Lee Westwood, Sergio Garcia (Spa)
1412 Adam Scott (Aus), Matt Kuchar (USA), Luke Donald
1423 Matteo Manassero (Ita), Rickie Fowler (USA), Hunter Mahan (USA)
1434 Peter Hanson (Swe), Hiroyuki Fujita (Jpn), Bill Haas (USA)
1445 Tiger Woods (USA), Graeme McDowell, Louis Oosthuizen (Rsa)
1456 Webb Simpson (USA), Branden Grace (Rsa), Jamie Donaldson
1507 Francesco Molinari (Ita), Toru Taniguchi (Jpn), Bo Van Pelt (USA)
1518 Brett Rumford (Aus), D.A. Points (USA), Marcel Siem (Ger)
1529 George Murray, Mark Brown (Nzl), Justin Harding (Rsa)
1540 Scott Jamieson, Gregory Bourdy (Fra), Shiv Kapur (Ind)
1551 Scott Brown (USA), Satoshi Kodaira (Jpn), Gareth Maybin
1602 Tyrrell Hatton, Eduardo De La Riva (Spa), Kenichi Kuboya (Jpn)
1613 Stephen Dartnall (Aus), Darryn Lloyd (Rsa), Daisuke Maruyama (Jpn)

  • Share:


142nd Open Championship

Sunningdale Golf Course: unveiled as one of four venues for Open Championship final qualifying

Open qualifying at Sunningdale

The New Course at Sunningdale has been unveiled as one of four venues for Open Championship final qualifying.

Bradley: the American could fire at Firestone, says Rob

Bradley's Kee time

America's Keegan Bradley has had a so-so season, says Rob Lee, but that could be about to change...

Lee Westwood: Won't dwell on latest near-miss in the majors

Westwood looks to next major

Lee Westwood has vowed to bounce back from his Open agony by mounting a strong challenge at next month's USPGA.