US Open: Landon Michelson admits scoring error and is disqualified

Last Updated: 03/06/14 3:42pm

  • Share:
Pinehurst: Landon Michelson's dreams of playing here in June are over

Pinehurst: Landon Michelson's dreams of playing here in June are over

Sky Bet

Landon Michelson's dreams of playing in the US Open were dashed when he was forced to disqualify himself for signing an incorrect scorecard.

The 22-year-old amateur, a Rice University graduate, carded a pair of one-under par 71s in a sectional qualifier at Quail Valley on Monday and appeared set to at least secure a place in a playoff for one of four available spots.

But the story took a nasty twist when realisation dawned he had signed for a 70 in his second round instead of a 71, leaving him with an ethical decision to own up or try to keep the mistake quiet and have to live with the knowledge he had cheated.

But he harked back to a project he completed at Rice regarding Blayne Barber's decision to disqualify himself from the PGA Tour Q-School back in 2012 when he was unsure if he had brushed a leaf in a bunker during his second round.

Like Barber, Michelson admitted his error and was disqualified, missing out on a dream trip to Pinehurst later this month.

"I told myself I didn't know what I would do in that situation," said Michelson, who was only playing in the qualifier because Freddie Jacobson decided to forego his spot and try to qualify through reaching the top 60.

"But I decided to just go for it. I was just hoping there was something the rules official could do.

"You can say it was the only thing to do, but I could have easily have said nothing and I'd be playing in the US Open at Pinehurst.

"I am like the 1,000th-ranked amateur in the world. The clothing sponsors, the club sponsors (for playing at the US Open) ... it would have been so much easier.

"That's just golf."

His decision allowed Australian Aron Price into the US Open without the need for a playoff.

  • Share:

Related

US Open 2014

Martin Kaymer celebrates his eight-stroke win at the 114th U.S. Open

One-horse race

Colin Montgomerie says US Open winner Martin Kaymer was 'head and shoulders' above the rest of the field at Pinehurst.

Martin Kaymer celebrates with the trophy after his eight-stroke victory at the 114th US Open

Sky's the limit

Butch Harmon says Martin Kaymer is playing better than ever and made his US Open victory 'look easy'.

Martin Kaymer: Now has two major titles

Kaymer targets Grand Slam

Martin Kaymer set his sights on winning the Open Championship at Hoylake to complete a 'German Grand Slam'.

Most Popular

Features

US Open D4 round-up

US Open D4 round-up

We've got big-name video reaction, blogs and some spectacular shots in our review.

US Open D3 round-up

US Open D3 round-up

We've got big-name video reaction, blogs and some spectacular shots in our review.

Course strikes back

Course strikes back

Pinehurst was the winner on day three of the 114th US Open, says Sky Sports' Butch Harmon.