Scott Jamieson wins Nelson Mandela Championship in play-off

Last Updated: 10/12/12 2:23pm

  • Share:
Scott Jamieson: triumphed in a three-man play-off

Scott Jamieson: triumphed in a three-man play-off

Sky Bet

Scott Jamieson shot a 57 and then won a three-man play-off to capture the weather-affected Nelson Mandela Championship at Royal Durban.

Jamieson landed the first event of the 2013 Race To Dubai and his first European Tour success by edging out England's Steve Webster at the second extra hole after Spaniard Eduardo de la Riva had been eliminated at the first.

In an event cut to 36 holes and the lay-out reduced to a par 65 because of the flooded conditions at the Royal Durban course on Thursday and Friday, the trio had tied on seven-under par.

Final leaderboard

(Rsa unless stated)

-7 S Jamieson (Sco)
(won at second extra hole)
-7 S Webster (Eng)
-7 E De La Riva (Spa)
-6 M Kieffer (Ger)
-6 M Nixon (Eng)
-6 M O Madsen (Den)
-6 T Clark

Click here for collated scores

De La Riva had carded a 61 after bogeying the last, Webster a 60 and Jamieson a remarkable eight-under 57.

The 57 was also matched by South Africa's Jaco Van Zyl although they won't enter the record books as the European Tour's first sub-60 rounds due to the modified conditions.

The play-off trio all went out in the morning wave in the delayed second round and had to wait all afternoon to see if anybody could catch or overtake them.

South African Tim Clark had the best chance, but double-bogeyed the 17th when joint leader.

Clark then birdied the last to finish one back alongside Denmark's Morten Orum Madsen, England's Matthew Nixon and Germany's Maximilian Kieffer.

When the play-off finally started, De la Riva went out at the first extra hole after failing to get up and down from sand and when Jamieson and Webster returned to 18 again it was the Scot who prevailed after the Engishman couldn't recover from a drive into deep rough and missed his long par putt.

  • Share: