Next season's PGA Tour schedule kicks off with six events at the end of 2013

Last Updated: 10/09/13 4:17pm

  • Share:
The Open in October 2013 gets next season under way

The Open in October 2013 gets next season under way

Sky Bet

The PGA Tour has announced the full schedule for the 2013-2014 season, which features 45 tournaments.

For the first time, it will be using a wraparound schedule which bridges two calendar years.

The 2013-2014 season opens with next month's Open in California on October 10th and culminates with the Tour Championship, the fourth and final FedExCup Playoff event, in September (11th-14th) 2014.

As previously announced, the season's first six tournaments - which take place later this year - offer full FedExCup points in 2013-14.

They are the Open, the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open in Las Vegas (October 17th-20th), the CIMB Classic in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (October 24th-27th), which becomes an official PGA TOUR event for the first time; the WGC-HSBC Champions in Shanghai, China (October 31st-November 3rd), which also becomes an official event; The McGladrey Classic at Sea Island, Georgia (November 7th-10th); and the OHL Classic at Mayakoba in Mexico (November 14th-17th).

The season then breaks for a month and a half before resuming in January 2014 with the traditional season-opening Hyundai Tournament of Champions in Hawaii (January 3rd-6th).

On the Florida Swing, the Tampa Bay tournament will now be the Valspar Championship (March 13th-16th) after getting new sponsors.

And The Sanderson Farms Championship in Mississippi will not be contested in 2013-2014 as it moves from July to the front end of the 2014-2015 schedule, opposite the WGC-HSBC Champions.

That means there will no longer be a tournament the same week as The Open Championship.

This year's majors dates and venues are: Masters (Augusta National, April 10th-13th), US Open (Pinehurst No.2, June 12th-15th), Open Championship (Hoylake, July 17th-20th), US PGA Championship (Valhalla, August 7th-10th).

  • Share: