Americans to unveil next Ryder Cup skipper this Thursday

Last Updated: 13/12/12 3:51pm

  • Share:

Sky Bet

The American Ryder Cup skipper for the 2014 contest in Scotland will be announced on Thursday.

The PGA of America confirmed that the name of the next US captain will be unveiled by broadcasters NBC with David Toms the favourite to land the role.

Paul Azinger, the most recent American captain to lift the trophy in 2008, tweeted on Tuesday he expected either Toms or Larry Nelson to be offered the position.

Toms won the PGA Championship 11 years ago, while Nelson is a three-time Major winner - he was PGA champion twice (1981-87) and lifted the US Open trophy in 1983.

Toms, who experienced Ryder Cup defeats in all three of his matches (2002-04-06), has a 42% success rate in the completion from 12 games.

Nelson, meanwhile, has an outstanding record in the biennial event, winning nine of his 13 games for a 73% success rate.

He played in two winning American teams - 1979 & 1981 - but tasted defeat at Muirfield Village in 1987.

The 2014 match is being staged at Gleneagles with hosts Europe expected to name their skipper early next year.

  • Share:


2014 Ryder Cup

Paul McGinley: Injury concern for Ryder Cup captain

McGinley facing time off

European Ryder Cup captain Paul McGinley faces up to three months on the sidelines with a shoulder problem.

Ian Poulter: Looking to earn automatic Ryder Cup place

Poulter keeps his focus

Ian Poulter insists he won't be relying on a captain's pick to make Europe's team for the Ryder Cup.

Des Smyth, Paul McGinley and Sam Torrance: Planning for victory at Gleneagles

Torrance backing McGinley

Sam Torrance believes European captain Paul McGinley will leave “no stone unturned” as he bids to retain the Ryder Cup.


Most Popular


Baldwin's home hope

Baldwin's home hope

Sky Sports catches up with local golfer Matt Baldwin as he prepares for a home Open at Royal Liverpool.

Golf on the Wirral

Golf on the Wirral

We try out a couple of courses near the Open venue at Hoylake, including the birthplace of stableford.

Hoylake's history

Hoylake's history

From 1897 to 2006: Highlights of the 11 Open Championships to be played at Hoylake.