Ferrari consider appeal against Brazil GP result - did Vettel pass under a yellow flag?
Could there be another twist in the title race?
Last Updated: 29/11/12 10:49am
Vettel could lose title
Ferrari are considering an appeal against the result of Sunday's Brazilian Grand Prix.
If they are successful with any appeal it could alter the destination of the Drivers' World Championship title which Sebastian Vettel won on Sunday at Interlagos.
"We are evaluating the footage," a Ferrari spokesman has confirmed. "Anything that threatens the credibility of the championship has to be examined."
The Italian team are reportedly examining footage of Vettel overtaking the Toro Rosso of Jean-Eric Vergne when yellow caution lights - which mean overtaking manoeuvers are not allowed - are visible.
"The finale on Sunday was an incredible climax to a fabulous season. You could understand from the video the grounds for a Ferrari appeal but whether it's good for the sport to have the title decided after the race or whether Seb would have finished higher than 8th had he received a drive-through penalty at the time, is something that should be considered if or when Ferrari appeal," reflected David Croft, the Sky Sports F1 commentator. "Let's wait and see what happens.
"One final point. The Stewards have a system, so I was told in Brazil, where overtakes under a yellow flag show up. So did this happen at the time?"
On Sky Sports
- January 1, 1970 1:00am
Vettel finished sixth in Sunday's season-finale at Interlagos, enough to see him end the year three points ahead of Ferrari's Fernando Alonso.
If Ferrari successfully appeal, the FIA could add a penalty of twenty seconds to Vettel's race time, a punishment which would see the Red Bull driver demoted to eighth and leave Alonso as World Champion.
Although the results of Sunday's race have been officially classified, the regulations allow room for retrospective appeal.
Under the terms of Article 179b of the International Sporting Code, an appeal can be lodged before November 30 if "a new element is discovered" which could have a bearing on the result of the World Championship.
The clause reads: "If, in events forming part of an FIA championship, a new element is discovered, whether or not the stewards of the meeting have already given a ruling, these stewards of the meeting or, failing this, those designated by the FIA must meet summoning the party or parties concerned to hear any relevant explanations and to judge in the light of the facts and elements brought before them."
Red Bull and the FIA are yet to comment.