Final countdown

Spain and Italy meet in the final of 2012 at the Olympic Stadium, Kiev, on Sunday night. Here, Sky Sports recalls the previous finals in European Championship history

David Trezeguet: Scored a dramatic extra-time winner to defeat Italy in 2000

Loading Market ...

Football Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

The history books will have a new entry on Sunday night when Spain and Italy meet in the final of Euro 2012. Here, we take a look back at all the other showpiece events from previous years in the tournament.

1960 - Soviet Union striker Viktor Ponedelnik scored in extra time at Parc des Princes, Paris, to seal a 2-1 victory over Yugoslavia.

1964 - Marcelino Martinez fired a late winner as hosts Spain defeated the Soviet Union 2-1 to win their first major competition.

1968 - Home advantage proved beneficial once more as Italy prevailed against Yugoslavia, but it needed two games to decide the winner as the first finished 1-1 after extra time.

1972 - Belgium played host as West Germany thrashed the Soviet Union 3-0 at Heysel Stadium, with Gerd Muller scoring twice.

1976 - West Germany were dethroned with penalties deciding the final against Czechoslovakia after extra time had finished 2-2. Antonin Panenka famously chipped home the decisive spot-kick for the Czechs.

1980 - West Germany striker Horst Hrubesch scored the second of his two goals with two minutes remaining to secure a 2-1 triumph over Belgium.

1984 - Michel Platini and Bruno Bellone were on target as France beat Spain 2-0 at Parc des Princes. It was France's first major international title.

1988 - Holland clinched their only tournament crown to date when they dispatched the Soviet Union 2-0 in Munich. Ruud Gullit and Marco van Basten supplied the goals.

1992 - Rank outsiders Denmark completed one of the greatest surprises in the competition's history when they beat Germany 2-0 in Gothenburg, Sweden.

1996 - Wembley was the setting as Germany striker Oliver Bierhoff struck two goals - the second a sudden-death winner in extra time - to sink the Czech Republic 2-1.

2000 - France were crowned champions with a dramatic 2-1 win over Italy. Sylvain Wiltord took the game to extra time with a 95th minute equaliser before David Trezeguet notched the winner.

2004 - Portugal's hopes of celebrating victory on home soil were dashed when underdogs Greece stunned Europe by winning in Lisbon with a solitary goal from Angelos Charisteas.

2008 - Fernando Torres blasted Spain to a 1-0 victory over Germany in Vienna, beginning his nation's reign as the world's top team.

Who will win Euro 2012?

  • Spain
  • Italy