France manager Raymond Domenech cannot understand the furore surrounding the World Cup play-off victory over Republic of Ireland.
Les Bleus booked a place in the finals in South Africa next summer after an aggregate victory over Giovanni Trapattoni's Ireland on Wednesday.
But the tie was overshadowed by a handball from Thierry Henry in the build-up to William Gallas' extra-time goal in the second-leg in Paris, which sealed an overall 2-1 success.
Ireland have requested the match be replayed and Henry has been branded a 'cheat', but Domenech, who was expected to be sacked if France did not qualify, is baffled by the fuss.
He said told L'Express.fr: "Everyone who loves the French team is pleased with this qualification.
"I too am pleased although it is tinged with a little bitterness due to a poor performance from my team, the referee and also the media reaction.
"I do not understand why we are being portrayed as the guilty party."
Domenech said of Henry's handball: "I didn't see it at the time.
"After I watched it back, I can see it is a mistake by the referee. To me this is the game and not cheating.
"I do not understand why we are being asked to apologise."