Trap selects Ireland squad

First steps to be taken on the road to the 2014 World Cup

Giovanni Trapattoni: Can no longer call upon Shay Given or Damien Duff

Loading Market ...

Football Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Giovanni Trapattoni has named his Republic of Ireland squad for the start of 2014 World Cup qualification, and his first since two senior stars slipped into retirement.

Shay Given and Damien Duff, experienced campaigners who have served their country with distinction for many years, no longer wish to be considered.

Their absence will be felt, but a door has opened for those looking to force their way into Trapattoni's plans.

The Italian coach admits as much and is looking for those at his disposal to take a positive step towards Brazil 2014 when they face Kazakhstan on 7th September and take in a friendly against Oman five days later.

Trapattoni said: "It is important to get off to a good start at the opening match of our 2014 campaign.

"Kazakhstan is a good side who have caused difficulties at home for a number of leading teams but we know our strengths and will be relying on them when we travel to Astana in September.

"We will be without Damien Duff who has been a truly great player for his country. I thank Damien for his immense contribution and hope his professionalism and dedication will be an inspiration to the wingers who are now emerging in his place."


Shane Long, who Trapattoni labelled 'idiotic' last week after the striker announced he was fully fit to play in the goalless draw with Serbia, is included in the 23-man squad.

Motherwell's uncapped goalkeeper Darren Randolph is also called up and Stoke utility player Marc Wilson could add to the single cap he earned from the bench in the 2011 Nations Cup game against Wales.

Seven of the players named for the World Cup qualifier have five or less international caps to their name.

They are Wilson, Randolph, Millwall's David Forde, Wigan midfielder James McCarthy, Everton's Seamus Coleman and West Ham's Joey O'Brien.

Robbie Keane, who made his debut with the now-retired Duff in 1998, is the most experienced member of the squad with 120 caps and 53 goals.

Republic of Ireland squad:

Goalkeepers: Westwood, Forde, Randolph

Defenders: Wilson, O'Shea, St Ledger, O'Dea, Ward, Kelly, McShane

Midfielders: Whelan, Gibson, McCarthy, Coleman, O'Brien, McGeady, Keogh, McClean

Forwards: Keane, Doyle, Long, Cox, Walters