County wield the axe

Loading Market ...

Football Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Gudjon Thordarson has axed seven of his players from Notts County.

Goalkeeper Shaun Marshall (pictured), defender Brian O'Callaghan, midfielders Chibuzor Chilaka, Noe Sissoko and Stacy Long and strikers Matthew Williams and Andy White have all been released by The Magpies.

The Meadow Lane outfit narrowly avoided relegation from The Football League this season and Thordarson wants to ensure the team do not find themselves in the same position next year.

The boss would have liked to keep reserve goalkeeper Marshall, but with first choice goalkeeper Kevin Pilkington having cemented his place in the team it was felt he should be given an opportunity elsewhere.

Meanwhile, Mike Edwards and Liam Needham are in negotiations to renew their contracts with the League Two outfit.

But the club are yet to make a decision on the futures of Julien Baudet, Chris Palmer, Steve Scoffham, Rob Ullathorne, Emmet Friars, Lewis McMahon and Jake Sheridan, who are all also out of contract.