Football League: Shortlists announced for 2014 awards

Mason Bennett: Derby youngster nominated for Championship apprentice of the year award

Loading Market ...

Football Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

The Football League has announced the shortlists for the 2014 Football League Awards, which will be presented at a ceremony in London on March 16.

The eight awards celebrate achievements on and off the pitch across the 72 Football League clubs, with 31 clubs nominated in total.

Derby County lead the way with three nominations, including one for 17-year-old striker Mason Bennett - a regular in the Rams' first-team squad - for Championship Apprentice of the Year.

Huddersfield midfielder Jake Charles and Middlesbrough midfielder Bryn Morris are also in the running for that award.

Chief executive Shaun Harvey told the Football League's official website: "Many millions of fans attend Football League matches each season and The Football League Awards 2014 provides the opportunity to recognise star performances, both on and off the pitch.

"Once again, the quality of the entries this year has been extremely high, so to make the shortlists is a real achievement by the clubs and individuals involved. We wish all those nominated the best of luck and look forward to a fantastic evening in March when we will announce the winners."

Family Club of the Year Award:

Birmingham City

Bristol City


Oxford United

Plymouth Argyle

Wolverhampton Wanderers

Community Club of the Year Award:

Brentford (South East Winner)

Derby County (Midlands Winner)

Doncaster Rovers (North East Winner)

Morecambe (North West Winner)

Portsmouth (South West Winner)

Unsung Hero Award:

Norman Rimmington (Barnsley, assistant kitman)

Fred Woolven (Brighton, club lottery volunteer)

Frank Banks (Southend United, community and education trust volunteer)

Player in the Community Award:

Reda Johnson (Sheffield Wednesday)

David Martin (Milton Keynes Dons)

Elliot Omozusi (Leyton Orient)

Apprentice of the Year - Championship:

Mason Bennett (Derby County)

Jake Charles (Huddersfield Town)

Bryn Morris (Middlesbrough)

Apprentice of the Year - League 1:

Josh Brownhill (Preston North End)

Brendon Galloway (Milton Keynes Dons)

Samuel Szmodics (Colchester United)

Apprentice of the Year - League 2:

Ben Purrington (Plymouth Argyle)

Bradley Walker (Hartlepool United)

Jack Whatmough (Portsmouth)

Best Digital Content & Audience Growth Award:

AFC Bournemouth

Coventry City

Derby County

Oxford United

Queens Park Rangers