Sky Blues release quartet

Clingan, Hreidarsson, Eastwood and Ireland leave relegated side

Hermann Hreidarsson: Among four players to have been released by Coventry

Four players have been released by relegated Coventry City as the Sky Blues prepare for life in League One.

Midfielder Sammy Clingan, defender Hermann Hreidarsson, striker Freddy Eastwood and goalkeeper Danny Ireland will not be retained following the expiration of their contracts this summer.

The quartet have all been informed of their release and will attempt to seek new clubs.

A statement on the club's official website read: "Coventry City would like to offer its thanks for their contribution to the football club and wish them the very best in their future careers."

Clingan turned down the offer of a new deal to leave the Ricoh Arena on a free transfer.