Warnock leaves with pride

Manager disappointed to part with club but pays tribute to fans

Neil Warnock: Sad to be parting company with QPR but has happy memories

Loading Market ...

Football Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Neil Warnock has expressed his disappointment at leaving Queens Park Rangers but wished the club well for the future and insisted he will always look back at his time at Loftus Road with pride.

"Obviously I'm very disappointed, but having achieved so much, I leave the club with a great sense of pride."

Neil Warnock

Quotes of the week

QPR announced on Sunday that they had parted company with their manager after a disappointing series of results over the past couple of months.

While the search for a new boss will now be their priority, owner Tony Fernandes and vice-chairman Amit Bhatia have thanked Warnock for his contribution since taking the helm in March 2010.

Having turned QPR from Championship strugglers into a Premier League side, Warnock is sad not to have the chance to fight on for the rest of the season.

But he maintains that he will always have fond memories of his spell at QPR and hopes the club will be able to push on and enjoy brighter times ahead.


"Obviously I'm very disappointed, but having achieved so much, I leave the club with a great sense of pride," Warnock told QPR's official website.

"I have enjoyed my time here more than anywhere else and the QPR fans have been brilliant with me - they deserve success.

"My biggest regret is that the takeover didn't happen earlier, because that would have given me the opportunity to bring in the targets I'd pinpointed all last summer and probably given us a better chance to succeed in the Premier League."

He added: "The board at QPR are hugely ambitious and I wish them every success for the future.

"I've been involved in the game a long time and I will be spending the immediate future with my family and friends before deciding my next career move."

Who do you think will replace Neil Warnock as QPR manager?

  • Mark Hughes
  • Steve Bruce
  • Gianfranco Zola
  • Sven Goran Eriksson
  • Alan Curbishley
  • Paolo Di Canio
  • Other