Stoke City captain Andy Griffin believes referee Rob Styles was wrong to award Derby County a penalty on Tuesday night.
The Potters departed this season's Carling Cup after Nathan Ellington's last-gasp spot-kick condemned them to a 1-0 defeat.
Griffin was adjudged to have handled the ball inside the box but the defender is adamant the action was not deliberate.
He said in The Sentinel: "If it says in the rulebook that handball has to be deliberate, then no, it was not a penalty.
"I kind of turned sideways and it hit the back of my arm. I didn't try to stop it going by me or anything like that. I know for a fact it wasn't deliberate. The referee got it wrong as far as I am concerned.
"It is common sense. When someone boots the ball at your arm, and it is accidental, then what are you supposed to do?
"I'm disappointed and a little bit angry, but there's not a lot I can do now."