Vogts names 'future' squad

Loading Market ...

Football Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

SCOTLAND boss Berti Vogts has named a 'future' squad for a four-team international friendly tournament starting next month in Mainz, Germany.

The German tactician has included a number of uncapped players in the squad, including Partick Thistle goalkeeper Kenny Arthur and midfielder John-Paul McGovern, who is on loan to Sheffield United from Scottish champions Celtic.

They are joined by Bristol City winger Scott Murray (pictured), who has been rewarded for his fine season so far with The Robins by earning a first-time call-up to his country's national side.

The Wigan Athletic duo of Gary Teale and Andy Liddell will receive the opportunity to earn their first full caps along with Cardiff City goalkeeper Neil Alexander, Celtic defender John Kennedy and Dunfermline Athletic defender Scott Wilson.

The striking duo of Portsmouth's Mark Burchill and Wolves' Kenny Miller have also earned places in the squad, as they will look to impress Vogts with their goal-scoring exploits.

Vogts' 'future' squad will face Germany, Turkey and the Czech Republic in the friendly tournament, with the first match against the host Germans on December 17.

The Scots will then play away to Turkey on February 25 next year and home to the Czech Republic on May 20, with return matches to be played next season.

On the naming of the squad, Vogts told the Scottish FA's official website: "This match plays an important role in the development of players for the full Scotland team.

"It will give players who are on the fringes of the international squad an opportunity to show their worth against quality opposition, and I am sure they will learn much from the experience.

"This will not only help to prepare them for future international squad call-ups, I am also sure the experience will benefit their clubs."

Meanwhile, Vogts added his support for the country's bid for the 2008 European Championships by claiming their application has better stadiums than the other candidates.

"Scotland has the best and largest stadiums," added Vogts. "The time has come to stage the competition in the North of Europe."

Scotland squad

Neil Alexander (Cardiff City), Kenny Arthur (Partick Thistle), Paul Gallacher (Dundee United); Gary Caldwell (Newcastle United - loaned to Coventry City), Steven Caldwell (Newcastle United), John Kennedy (Celtic), Lee Wilkie (Dundee), Scott Wilson (Dunfermline Athletic); Stephen Crainey (Celtic), Stephen Glass (Watford), John-Paul McGovern (Celtic - loaned to Sheffield United), Ian Murray (Hibernian), Scott Murray (Bristol City), Barry Nicholson (Dunfermline Athletic), Gavin Rae (Dundee), Scott Severin (Heart of Midlothian), Gary Teale (Wigan Athletic), Gareth Williams (Nottingham Forest); Mark Burchill (Portsmouth), Kevin Kyle (Sunderland), Andy Liddell (Wigan Athletic), Kenny Miller (Wolverhampton Wanderers)