Dutch name uncapped trio

Loading Market ...

Football Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Dutch coach Marco van Basten has named three uncapped players in his squad ahead of their Euro 2008 qualifying double-header with Romania and Slovenia.

AZ Alkmaar duo Danny Koevermans (pictured) and Demy de Zeeuw - who played major parts in Newcastle's exit from the Uefa Cup - are rewarded for their fine form and will hope to earn first caps.

PSV Eindhoven starlet Ibrahim Afellay is also included for the first time.

Manchester United's Edwin van der Sar is named - although Holland will wait on medical tests before they set off for Romania later this week.

"We will decide on Monday if he will join the group for the match against Romania, otherwise he will stay in England to recover further," confirmed Van Basten.

Holland are firmly on course for Euro 2008 qualification as they sit top of Group G with ten points.

Squad in full: Edwin van der Sar (Manchester United), Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax), Henk Timmer (Feyenoord); Khalid Boulahrouz (Chelsea), Wilfred Bouma (Aston Villa), Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Barcelona), Tim de Cler (AZ Alkmaar), Urby Emanuelson (Ajax), John Heitinga (Ajax), Kew Jaliens (AZ Alkmaar), Joris Mathijsen (Hamburg); Ibrahim Afellay (PSV Eindhoven), Nigel de Jong (Hamburg), Denny Landzaat (Wigan Athletic), Clarence Seedorf (Milan), Wesley Sneijder (Ajax), Rafael van der Vaart (Hamburg), Demy de Zeeuw (AZ Alkmaar); Ryan Babel (Ajax), Klaas Jan Huntelaar (Ajax), Danny Koevermans (AZ Alkmaar), Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool), Arjen Robben (Chelsea).