Andrey Arshavin left out of Fabio Capello's Russia squad

Andrei Arshavin: Arsenal forward overlooked by Russia coach Fabio Capello again

Loading Market ...

Football Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Arsenal forward Andrei Arshavin has been left out of the Russia national team for next month's friendly international against the United States.

The 31-year-old has been a peripheral part of the Gunners' campaign this season and has been overlooked by Russia coach Fabio Capello once again.

Reading striker Pavel Pogrebnyak has also been left out of the 35-man squad that will be reduced to a regular 23-man unit next week.

Real Madrid forward Denis Cheryshev has received his first call-up to the senior despite the 21-year-old not making his debut for Los Blancos' first team yet.

Russia's provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Igor Akinfeev (CSKA Moscow), Alexander Belenov (FC Kuban), Vladimir Gabulov (Anzhi Makhachkala), Artyom Rebrov (Spartak Moscow).

Defenders: Alexander Anyukov (Zenit St. Petersburg), Alexey Berezutsky (CSKA Moscow), Vasily Berezutsky (CSKA Moscow), Taras Burlak (Lokomotiv Moscow), Vladimir Granat (Dynamo Moscow), Sergei Ignashevich (CSKA Moscow), Arseny Logashov (Anzhi Makhachkala), Evgeny Makeev (Spartak Moscow), Georgy Shchennikov (CSKA Moscow), Renat Yanbaev (Lokomotiv Moscow, on loan at Zenit St. Petersburg), Alexei Yeshchenko (Lokomotiv Moscow), Yuri Zhirkov (Anzhi Makhachkala).

Midfielders: Diniyar Bilyaletdinov (Spartak Moscow), Vladimir Bystrov (Zenit St. Petersburg), Denis Cheryshev (Real Madrid), Igor Denisov (Zenit St. Petersburg), Alan Dzagoev (CSKA Moscow), Viktor Faizulin (Zenit St. Petersburg), Denis Glushakov (Lokomotiv Moscow), Dmitry Kombarov (Spartak Moscow), Vladislav Kulik (FC Kuban), Magomed Ozdoev (Lokomotiv Moscow), Alexander Samedov (Lokomotiv Moscow), Oleg Shatov (Anzhi Makhachkala), Roman Shirokov (Zenit St. Petersburg), Dmitry Tarasov (Lokomotiv Moscow).

Forwards: Artyom Dzyuba (Spartak Moscow), Maxim Grigoryev (Lokomotiv Moscow), Alexander Kerzhakov (Zenit St. Petersburg), Alexander Kokorin (Dynamo Moscow, Fyodor Smolov (Anzhi Makhachkala).