League awards announced

Lambert, Rhodes, Ritchie, Zaha and Poyet land top gongs

Rickie Lambert: Hoping to guide Southampton back into the Premier League

Jordan Rhodes: Has seen his prolific strike rate in League One rewarded

Loading Market ...

Football Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Rickie Lambert, Jordan Rhodes, Matt Ritchie, Wilfried Zaha and Gus Poyet were among the winners at the Football League awards on Sunday.

Lambert has netted 25 times in all competitions for Southampton this season and his exploits have seen him named Championship Player of the Year.

He has the Saints on course to secure back-to-back promotions and edged out competition from club colleague Adam Lallana and Cardiff midfielder Peter Whittingham to scoop the second tier gong.

Prolific Huddersfield striker Jordan Rhodes grabbed the League One Player of the Year award, with his 33 goals this season rightly recognised.

The Scotland international saw off Charlton's Johnnie Jackson and Sheffield United striker Ched Evans to land the top prize.


Matt Ritchie is considered to be the pick of the bunch in League Two, with the midfielder rewarded for the part he has played in helping to guide Swindon to the top of the table.

Cheltenham's Marlon Pack and Tyrone Barnett, now of Peterborough but formerly of Crawley, had also been in the running.

Crystal Palace's teenage winger Wilfried Zaha was named Young Player of the Year, with the 19-year-old expected to be plying his trade in the Premier League in the not too distant future.

Elsewhere, Gus Poyet landed the Outstanding Managerial Achievement award for guiding Brighton to the League One title in 2010/11.