Pedersen - I'm no cheat

Blackburn star insists he didn't realise goal was illegal

Morten Gamst Pedersen: Insists he did not cheat at Wigan

Loading Market ...

Football Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Morten Gamst Pedersen has defended his role in Blackburn's 'illegal' goal at Wigan at the weekend.

Pedersen took a corner himself before crossing for Junior Hoilett to head home Rovers' second goal in the 3-3 draw.

Yakubu had put the ball down and looked to play the ball, but did not touch it with Pedersen then going to take the corner and playing it to himself before crossing.

And the Norwegian has hit back at claims that he 'cheated' by insisting he thought Yakubu had already played the ball.

"I thought Yakubu had touched the ball, so I took it with me into the field," said Pedersen.

"I was looking into the box when Yakubu pretended to kick the ball and I only saw him doing that in the corner of my eye. I thought that he had touched it.

"Now I know Yakubu never touched it, but since neither the referee or the assistant referee did anything I thought everything was fine until after the game.

"If I had seen that he was never near the ball I would have just sent it in like I always do."