Romaric has expressed his dismay at conceding a late penalty that ended Espanyol's winning run at Malaga on Sunday.
The Ivorian midfielder was left nursing a swollen eye after blocking a shot with the scoreline level at one apiece and was stunned when referee Carlos Delgado Ferreiro gave the home side a penalty, a spot-kick that Apono converted.
While the assistant did not flag, Romaric sought to prove to the officials that he had been struck in the face only to be accused of trying it on.
"The referee told me that I had suffered the injury in a previous move," said the," Romaric told reporters.
"I was unable to carry on playing because I was in pain and I had to put ice on it.
"Referees can make mistakes but when someone is able to show him exactly what happened he must take some time to consider it."
Romaric revealed that the shot did strike his hand, but only because he was trying to protect his face and not block the shot.
"My hand hit me in the face, that is for sure, but I think that it is impossible to give a penalty for that," he continued.
"During the game in midweek [against Real Betis] there were two similar incidents and no penalty was given.
"I do not understand why the referee gave a penalty or why the linesman agreed with the harsh decision when he could clearly see nothing.
"Now I cannot do anything and they have been presented with two points."