Robben out of Dutch squad

Van Marwijk names team for Euro qualifiers

Robben: Injury-prone winger will miss next month's Euro qualifiers

The Netherlands national team coach Bert van Marwijk has been forced to exclude Arjen Robben and Ibrahim Afellay from his 23-man squad for next month's Euro 2012 qualifiers.

The Oranje, who replaced Spain at the top of Fifa rankings this month, are scheduled to face San Marino on 2nd September and Finland four days later in Group E.

But both Robben and Afellay will have to sit out as they are currently nursing injuries.

The Bayern Munich star has an inflammation affecting his groin and will miss the German club's Bundesliga encounter against Kaiserslautern this weekend, while the Barcelona winger is recovering from a muscle injury.

However, Van Marwijk has not given up hope of drafting Robben into his team should the 27-year-old recover in time.

"I am keeping the door open for him if his injury improves next week," he said on Friday.

PSV Eindhoven wingers Jeremain Lens and Georginio Wijnaldum will replace Robben and Afellay in the Dutch team.

Netherlands squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Maarten Stekelenburg (Roma/ITA), Michel Vorm (Swansea City/ENG), Tim Krul (Newcastle United/ENG)

Defenders: Khalid Boulahrouz (Stuttgart/GER), Edson Braafheid (Hoffenheim/GER), Jeffrey Bruma (Hamburg/GER), John Heitinga (Everton/ENG), Hedwiges Maduro (Valencia/ESP), Joris Mathijsen (Malaga/ESP), Erik Pieters (PSV Eindhoven), Gregory van der Wiel (Ajax)

Midfielders: Mark van Bommel (AC Milan/ITA), Nigel de Jong (Manchester City/ENG), Wesley Sneijder (Inter Milan/ITA), Kevin Strootman (PSV Eindhoven), Rafael van der Vaart (Tottenham Hotspur/ENG), Georginio Wijnaldum (PSV Eindhoven)

Forwards: Eljero Elia (Hamburg/GER), Klaas Jan Huntelaar (Schalke/GER), Luuk de Jong (FC Twente), Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool/ENG), Robin van Persie (Arsenal/ENG), Jeremain Lens (PSV Eindhoven)