Robben returns to Dutch squad

Bayern winger back from injury lay-off for Hungary games

Robben: Has proved his fitness

Loading Market ...

Football Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Arjen Robben has been named in the Holland squad for the first time since last summer's World Cup final.

SKY SPORTS ON SKY There's more live football on Sky Sports than ever before, including the Barclays Premier League, UEFA Champions League, Clydesdale Bank Premier League, England away Euro 2012 qualifiers and La Liga. With four live Sky Sports channels, as well as Sky Sports News, you'll never miss a moment on Sky. Click here for more.

The Bayern Munich star has not featured for Holland since the defeat to Spain but has now returned to the international fold.

Coach Bert van Marwijk has named the 27-year-old winger in his provisional squad for the Euro 2012 qualifying double-header against Hungary.

Robben suffered a hamstring injury just before last summer's World Cup which had not healed when he came into the side for the latter stages of the tournament.

The former Chelsea man was sidelined until January to resolve the problem and has proved his fitness with five goals in seven league appearances for Bayern.

Not regulars

However, Van Marwijk has otherwise plumped for players who have not been playing regularly for their clubs in recent weeks, such as Khalid Boulahrouz, Ibrahim Afellay, Hedwiges Maduro, Urby Emanuelson, Eljero Elia, Ruud van Nistelrooy and Klaas Jan Huntelaar.

Holland have won their opening four Euro 2012 qualifiers and continue their Group E campaign in Budapest on 25th March before Hungary travel to Amsterdam four days later.

Hungary are set to be Holland's main rival for automatic qualification as they are second in the group, three points behind the Dutch after winning three of their first four games.

Holland squad: Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax), Michel Form (FC Utrecht)

Khalid Boulahrouz (Stuttgart), John Heitinga (Everton), Ron Vlaar (Feyenoord), Gregory van der Wiel (Ajax), Urby Emanuelson (AC Milan), Hedwiges Maduro (Valencia), Joris Mathijsen (Hamburg), Erik Pieters (PSV Eindhoven), Peter Wisgerhof (FC Twente)

Ibrahim Afellay (Barcelona), Mark van Bommel (AC Milan), Nigel de Jong (Manchester City), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich), Wesley Sneijder (Inter Milan), Rafael van der Vaart (Tottenham Hotspur), Theo Janssen (FC Twente), Kevin Strootman (FC Utrecht), Demy de Zeeuw (Ajax)

Eljero Elia (Hamburg), Klaas Jan Huntelaar (Schalke), Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool), Ruud van Nistelrooy (Hamburg), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Luuk de Jong (FC Twente), Jeremain Lens (PSV Eindhoven).

Post a Comment

All fields required, your email address will not be displayed with your comment

Post a Comment

All fields required, your email address will not be displayed with your comment