Former referee Mike Riley insists Mark Clattenburg took the 'correct course of action' regarding Wayne Rooney's elbow on James McCarthy.
Manchester United striker Rooney caught McCarthy on the side of the head during the early stages of his team's 4-0 win at Wigan Athletic on Saturday.
Clattenburg awarded a free-kick, but opted against taking further action for an incident which Latics boss Roberto Martinez felt warranted a red card.
The Football Association has subsequently confirmed there will be no retrospective punishment for Rooney after receiving Clattenburg's report on the game.
And, despite the widespread calls for Rooney to be banned for the challenge, Riley is adamant that Clattenburg 'did nothing wrong' at the DW Stadium.
"Mark took the correct course of action with this incident," said Professional Game Match Officials general manager Riley.
"Match officials are trained to prioritise following the ball, as that is where the greater majority of incidents are going to take place.
"However, we also do a lot of work around the area of peripheral vision to be aware of anything that might potentially happen off-the-ball.
"In this incident Mark was following play but caught sight of two players coming together and he awarded a free-kick because he believed one player had impeded the other.
"We should be clear that Mark did nothing wrong in officiating this incident as he acted on what he saw on the pitch."