Arsene - Nasri did not dive

Gunners boss rejects claims that Frenchman simulated at Spurs

Nasri: Wenger defence

Loading Market ...

Football Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger has rejected claims that Samir Nasri dived for his side's first penalty in extra-time against Tottenham Hotspur.

The Frenchman went down in the box under a challenge from Spurs defender Sebastien Bassong, and duly tucked away the spot-kick.

Arsenal went on to win the game 4-1, and in the aftermath Bassong and Tottenham boss Harry Redknapp suggested Nasri dived.

Wenger, though, has denied that claims, telling the official Arsenal Matchday Programme: "Since our win at Spurs on Tuesday night, there has been talk in the media about the award of our first penalty.

"If you look at the replay, you can see that Bassong clearly pulls Nasri's shirt and the referee gives the penalty. Samir is an honest player and to suggest he dived for the penalty is wrong."