Holland name World Cup squad

Van Marwijk cuts final four for this summer's finals

Van Marwijk: Decision time

Holland coach Bert van Marwijk has confirmed his 23-man squad for this summer's World Cup.

Van Marwijk cut the final four players from his provisional squad on Thursday following his team's first warm-up game against Mexico on Wednesday night.

Ajax youngster Vurnon Anita, Feyenoord centre-back Ron Vlaar, PSV Eindhoven midfielder Orlando Engelaar and AZ Alkmaar forward Jeremain Lens are the four men to miss out.

Anita made his senior international debut against Mexico as a second-half substitute in the 2-1 win, but he will not be travelling to South Africa.

Engelaar was the only one of the four to have previous experience of a major tournament having played at Euro 2008 under previous coach Marco van Basten.

Vlaar had a strong season with Feyenoord but has missed much of Holland's training camp in Austria through injury, while Lens was also a surprise inclusion in the original squad.

Babel relief

Lens was competing with Liverpool's Ryan Babel for a place on the plane and Van Marwijk opted for Babel's greater experience.

Holland's final friendlies are against Ghana (1st June) and Hungary (5th June), while they have been drawn in Group E in South Africa, where they will open against Denmark on 14th June before taking on Japan and Cameroon.

Holland squad

Goalkeepers: Sander Boschker (FC Twente), Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax), Michel Vorm (FC Utrecht)

Defenders: Khalid Boulahrouz (Stuttgart), Edson Braafheid (Bayern Munich), John Heitinga (Everton), Joris Mathijsen (Hamburg), Andre Ooijer (PSV Eindhoven), Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Feyenoord), Gregory van der Wiel (Ajax)

Midfielders: Ibrahim Afellay (PSV Eindhoven), Nigel de Jong (Manchester City), Demy de Zeeuw (Ajax), Stijn Schaars (AZ Alkmaar), Wesley Sneijder (Inter Milan), Mark van Bommel (Bayern Munich), Rafael van der Vaart (Real Madrid)

Forwards: Ryan Babel (Liverpool), Eljero Elia (Hamburg), Klaas Jan Huntelaar (AC Milan), Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich), Robin van Persie (Arsenal).