West Ham keeper Stephen Henderson added to Republic of Ireland squad

Stephen Henderson: Late addition to the Republic of Ireland squad

Loading Market ...

Football Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Stephen Henderson could earn his first Republic of Ireland cap after being called into their squad for the friendly against Wales next week.

The West Ham keeper, who has eight U21 caps to his name, replaces David Forde in Giovanni Trapattoni's squad after the Millwall player suffered a knee injury that required surgery.

Forde will be missing for around six weeks and therefore miss the World Cup qualifiers against Sweden and Austria next month, leaving Henderson to compete with Sunderland's Keiren Westwood and Darren Randolph of Birmingham for the No 1 jersey.

Henderson has struggled for opportunities at Upton Park, but he impressed in a loan spell with Ipswich Town last season and could find himself in a similar predicament in 2013-14.

There have been three other withdrawals from Trapattoni's squad for the Cardiff City Stadium clash next Wednesday.

Norwich midfielder Anthony Pilkington, Nottingham Forest striker Simon Cox and Hull forward Stephen Quinn have been ruled out.

Pilkington has withdrawn from two other squads in the last four months because of injury, and he now has a knee problem.

Cox suffered an ankle injury and was stretchered off playing for Forest against Hartlepool in the Capital One Cup on Tuesday night.

Quinn has also been added to the injury list, with Yeovil's Paddy Madden put on standby.

Robbie Keane will not take part, having been told he does not need to make the trip over from Los Angeles, and Richard Dunne was also omitted as he builds up his fitness with new club QPR.

Updated squad to face Wales (Cardiff, August 14)

Goalkeepers: Henderson (West Ham), Westwood (Sunderland), Randolph (Birmingham)

Defenders: O'Shea (Sunderland), St Ledger (Leicester), Wilson (Stoke), Coleman (Everton), Kelly (Reading), O'Dea (Metalurh Donetsk), Clark (Aston Villa), McShane (Hull City)

Midfielders: Whelan (Stoke), McCarthy (Wigan), Green (Leeds), Hendrick (Derby), McGeady (Spartak Moscow), McClean (Sunderland), Robbie Brady (Hull), Meyler (Hull), Hoolahan (Norwich)

Forwards: Long (West Brom), Sammon (Derby), Walters (Stoke)