Del Bosque won't experiment

Spain boss sticking with tried and tested squad

Del Bosque: No new faces

Loading Market ...

Football Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Spain boss Vicente Del Bosque has refused to experiment with his squad for their World Cup qualifiers against Armenia and Bosnia-Herzegovina.

The European champions have already qualified for the World Cup finals in South Africa next summer.

It was largely expected that Del Bosque would take the opportunity to experiment later this month when Spain play their final two qualifiers.

But Del Bosque has refused to bring in a host of new faces, insisting that his squad for South Africa will come from his current crop of players, while he also wants to make sure that Spain are fair to the rest of the group as second place is yet to be decided.

"We are already qualified for the World Cup and we only have five games before the tournament - two now, two more in November and one in March," said Del Bosque.


"We have to profit from them to the max. This is the group that will represent us in South Africa.

"That doesn't mean that this is a closed list, but we cannot be whimsical or go ahead shaking it up all the time.

"We called up 24 because we have two games, because there is intense club competition, and for the very purity of the tournament - because Bosnia and Turkey are playing to qualify."

Two players who do return to the squad are Barcelona playmaker Andres Iniesta and Real Madrid defender Sergio Ramos.

Athletic Bilbao's Andoni Iraola has returned to the squad, 12 months after his last call-up.

Spain visit Armenia on 10th October before playing in Bosnia-Herzegovina four days later.

Spain squad:

Casillas (Real Madrid), Reina (Liverpool), Diego Lopez (Villarreal); Albiol (Real Madrid), Capdevila (Villarreal), Iraola (Athletic Bilbao), Marchena (Valencia), Monreal (Osasuna), Pique (Barcelona), Puyol (Barcelona), Ramos (Real Madrid), Alonso (Real Madrid), Busquets (Barcelona), Cazorla (Villarreal), Fabregas (Arsenal), Xavi (Barcelona), Iniesta (Barcelona), Riera (Liverpool), Senna (Villarreal), Guiza (Fenerbahce), Mata (Valencia), Silva (Valencia), Torres (Liverpool), Villa (Valencia)