Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

Ricoh Arena (ATT 18,346) 29th December 2007 - Kick off 17:20 Ref: I Williamson

Coventry Coventry City vs Ipswich Town Ipswich


Sky Blues sink Ipswich

Last Updated: 29/12/07 7:28pm

  • Share:
Adebola: Winning goal

Adebola: Winning goal

Coventry City claimed a first home win in two months after beating Ipswich Town 2-1 at the Ricoh Arena.

Dele Adebola scored the decisive goal in the second half after Julian Gray's early effort had been cancelled out by Danny Haynes.

Ipswich's hopes of snaring a second equaliser were dealt a late blow when Tommy Miller was sent off for a second bookable offence.

The Sky Blues should have been ahead inside two minutes when Jason De Vos misjudged a long ball and Michael Mifsud capitalised to nip in.

The Malta striker took a touch to steady himself but fired narrowly over from 15 yards with just Neil Alexander to beat.

Golden opportunity

It was a golden opportunity but the hosts did take the lead in the 11th minute after another mistake from De Vos.

Again he misread a long ball and after he dived in Adebola took the ball off his toes and charged in on goal.

The burly striker could have shot but wisely squared the ball across the six-yard box to Mifsud and while Alexander parried his effort, Gray was on hand to apply a simple finish with his right foot.

Ipswich forward Pablo Counago then brilliantly span away from three defenders before playing in strike partner Alan Lee and he had a strong claim for a penalty turned away by referee Ian Williamson after he was clattered by Arjan de Zeeuw.

Magilton's side continued to dominate and Counago was only denied an equaliser by a fine one-handed save from Andy Marshall.

Ipswich got their goal on 42 minutes when David Wright let fly with a fine effort from 25 yards and while Marshall did superbly to tip it onto the crossbar, Haynes reacted quickest to head in the rebound.

Coventry regained the lead out of nothing in the 64th minute when substitute Liam Davis collected a loose ball in midfield and drove infield before feeding a delicate through ball to Adebola.

The striker took a deft touch to take him clear of Wright before coolly rolling the ball beyond Alexander with his left foot.

Miller was then booked twice in quick succession for fouls to complete another miserable day on the road for Jim Magilton.

  • Share:



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Leicester City 42 90
2 Burnley 43 86
3 Derby County 43 78
4 Queens Park Rangers 42 73
5 Wigan Athletic 42 70
6 Brighton and Hove Albion 43 65
7 Reading 43 64
8 Ipswich Town 42 64
9 Bournemouth 43 62
10 Blackburn Rovers 43 61
11 Nottingham Forest 42 59
12 Middlesbrough 42 58
13 Watford 41 57
14 Bolton Wanderers 43 55
15 Sheffield Wednesday 43 53
16 Leeds United 42 50
17 Huddersfield Town 43 47
18 Birmingham City 41 43
19 Doncaster Rovers 43 43
20 Charlton Athletic 42 42
21 Blackpool 43 42
22 Millwall 42 40
23 Barnsley 42 39
24 Yeovil Town 43 37