Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

Portman Road (ATT 18,840) 22nd September 2007 - Kick off 17:20 Ref: T Kettle

Ipswich Ipswich Town vs Coventry City Coventry


Ipswich cruise past Coventry

Magilton's men hit four at home

By Andrew Scurr.   Last Updated: 22/09/07 7:50pm

  • Share:
De Vos: Started scoring

De Vos: Started scoring

Ipswich Town thrashed high-flying Coventry City 4-1 at Portman Road on Saturday evening.

The Tractor Boys inflicted a heavy defeat on Iain Dowie's side with Pablo Counago's double and goals from Jason De Vos and Jonathan Walters.

Total control

Ipswich went ahead in the 10th minute when De Vos climbed highest to head Owen Garvan's free-kick just inside Dimitrios Konstantopoulos' post

Alan Lee saw a volley repelled by the Coventry keeper but his strike partner Counago slotted home on 24 minutes after turning two defenders inside the Sky Blues' box.

Walters, who played a role in Counago's goal, scored Ipswich's third with a powerful header from Gary Roberts' cross five minutes before the break.

Jim Magilton's men could have been four up heading into half-time had Tommy Miller been able to beat Konstantopoulos after a fantastic move from the hosts.

Jay Tabb went agonisingly close to pulling one back for Coventry shortly after half-time with a fierce drive from distance.

Counago caps things off

However, any hopes they had of mounting a second-half comeback were killed off in the 57th minute when Counago pounced after Lee's initial header was well saved by Konstantopoulos.

Counago, on a hat-trick, tried his luck with a clever near-post flick, but the attempt was straight at Konstantopoulos.

Coventry got a stunning consolation goal on 70 minutes as Stephen Hughes rocketed a shot beyond Neil Alexander from a free-kick fully 30 yards from goal.

  • Share:



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Birmingham City 0 0
2 Blackburn Rovers 0 0
3 Blackpool 0 0
4 Bolton Wanderers 0 0
5 Bournemouth 0 0
6 Brentford 0 0
7 Brighton and Hove Albion 0 0
8 Cardiff City 0 0
9 Charlton Athletic 0 0
10 Derby County 0 0
11 Fulham 0 0
12 Huddersfield Town 0 0
13 Ipswich Town 0 0
14 Leeds United 0 0
15 Middlesbrough 0 0
16 Millwall 0 0
17 Norwich City 0 0
18 Nottingham Forest 0 0
19 Reading 0 0
20 Rotherham United 0 0
21 Sheffield Wednesday 0 0
22 Watford 0 0
23 Wigan Athletic 0 0
24 Wolverhampton Wanderers 0 0